Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pscott

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 25, 2005
yo whats up every body

i am a student starting college in 2 days and i needed a computer.

i was gonna spend 2600 $ on a new powerbook 17 inch but it hurt my heart so much...ive never spend that kinda money on anything in my life

so before i went to the apple store, i walked into compusa and i saw they had a demo model of a 17 inch powerbook previous generation. 1.5 ghz 512 ram 80 gb hd 64 mb video and superdrive. it was perfect for me for what i needed to do.

it was only 1600 $ so i bought it....it works perfectly. just one tiny barely noticeable scratch on the bottom. the manufacturers warranty expired so they gave me a deal on TAP for only 200 $....covers manufactuers defects for 2 years. im gonna get safeware for accidental damage protection (http://www.safeware.com)

i was a pc user but i hate winblows xp so i decided to go with a mac.....holy crap i love osx, its so simple and it runs perfectly.

i asked my mac friends and they said 1600 $ is a really good deal for the 17 in powerbook. my friend just bought a brand new 12 inch powerbook same specs as mine for 1600 $ and he was jealous of my 17 inch widescreen for the same price. i am looking on ebay at used powerbooks which are the same model as mine and they are getting sold for like 1800 +, and this one i bought wasnt even really used that much. 1 small scratch on the bottom. it was a demo unit, keyboard works perfectly, screen has no dead pixels.

so did i get a good deal or what??

thanks,
paul

MovieCutter

macrumors 68040
May 3, 2005
Washington, DC
pscott said:
yo whats up every body

i am a student starting college in 2 days and i needed a computer.

i was gonna spend 2600 $ on a new powerbook 17 inch but it hurt my heart so much...ive never spend that kinda money on anything in my life