hf100 importing to imovie.....?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by truz, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. truz macrumors 6502a

    truz

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    So.. I purchased a canon hf100.. Been playing with it the last few days. I imported the clips from my camcorder to imovie but how do I export to a web format so I can have family watch the clips and also how would I go about burning a dvd in top quality and watching it on tv?


    Thanks!
     
  2. arjen92 macrumors 65816

    arjen92

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Below sea level
    #2
    First (before you import your media) you must go to preferences and make the right setting: export 1080i media to 1920x1080 (if you really want everything, but if you dont have enough space choose big, or something like that). Now import your movie, edit it and go to share,export movie. Make the right settings for the internet (you'll understand it, whenever it's compatible with youtube). Then for the 1080i you must export it through quicktime. Now this I never did, but i'm sure after using the help function and some searching on the internet, you'll figure out what the best settings are. Then burn them with iDVD. Remember to look at the settings before you begin importing. If you've got a blu-ray burner (an external one, from lg or lacie) you should use toast, it can burn with blu-ray. There you'll find better settings I believe.
     
  3. truz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    truz

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    Thanks,
    I seem to have it working now..

    http://gallery.me.com/neumanc/100004

    quality looks alright to you? I have not burned any dvd's yet. I was trying to do video playback using hdmi but I noticed the hdmi port on the camcorder is smaller then a standard hdmi cable.
     
  4. mschneck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #4
    HF100 not working with imovie

    I just received a HF100 as a gift from my dad and can not get it to work with imovie!!! I loaded the Digital video solution disk and it doesn't work. I'm wondering if my version is not compatible I have Mac OS X 10.5.5, can anyone help me??
     
  5. CMD is me macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    #5
    My HF100 works great with iMovie 08. I didn't load any of the Canon software. PnP. Sorry I can't offer suggestions.
     
  6. gpeden macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    #6
    Hi there,

    You don't really need the Canon software.

    Intel Mac? AC brick powering camera? Both necessary....

    I prefer to read the card in a card reader instead of bothering with powering up the camera.

    Cheers!

    Glen
     

Share This Page