Hi : ) !!! - Are these my correct specifications? Because of RAM !!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by igmolinav, Apr 13, 2014.

  1. igmolinav macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a 13" MBP. It is more or less three years
    since I have had my MBP.

    My MBP has an Intel Core i5 processor and its
    speed is 2.3 GHz. It came with a(n) standard
    4 GB of RAM and I think one can max it out to
    16 GB.

    Is there any other computer spec. I should be
    aware of besides computer size, (13.3"), pro-
    cessor and its speed ??

    I have found these two options. One from crucial,
    and one from Newegg. However, Newegg does
    not offer 2x8GB of RAM, but 4x4GB of RAM. So
    it looks like I'll be getting the RAM from Crucial.

    I just wonder if I gave the right specs for the RAM
    I may get and with crucial the price does not come
    very cheap at $159.99 !!! But the one from Newegg
    is listed at $212.57 !!!

    RAM from Crucial:
    http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=88ECE5DBA5CA7304

    RAM from Newegg:
    http://www.newegg.com/MemoryFinder/?icid=57914#6GJ+U660bB0ABD

    Thank you in advance, kind regards,

    igmolinav : ) !!!

    P.S. I just saw a last offer from amazon.com:
    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_s...+16GB,aps,213&rh=i:aps,k:ram+16gb+macbook+pro
     
  2. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

    KUguardgrl13

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    #2
    If your machine can support 16gb, you'll want the 2x8 chips (two 8gb cards). MacBook Pros only have two slots. Four 4gb cards won't work.
     
  3. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #3
    Hi,

    Thank you for your message : ) !!!

    I'll get 2x8GB then!

    I was afraid I may get the RAM wrong,
    but it seems to me that apple didn't
    manufacture previous or future models
    with far too identical characteristics so
    that I may confuse things and at the
    end I would get the wrong type of RAM!

    Thank you again, kind regards,

    igmolinav : ) !!!
     
  4. bobcan macrumors 6502a

    bobcan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny but Cold.. Canada
    #4
    More info, unless you have a RAM store across the Street..

    Hello.. you ARE going to want to do a bit more research and get SPECIFICS of Model # as a minimum.. if it truly is a 2011 (about 3 yrs old) and as you spec it, then likely it can accept 16GB, even though Apple would have said not designed to use originally..

    This site has always served me well for the past several years and RAM Upgrades I have done!! Just FIND yours, and Study Up.. Good Luck!! :apple:

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/macbook_pro/index-macbookpro.html
     

Share This Page