Hi Def Camcorder or HDV Camcorder? PLEASE HELP!

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by BipolarNick, Nov 26, 2009.

1. BipolarNick macrumors newbie

Hi, I am looking to get a new camcorder to make some indi films etc. I have a lot of editing experience in Final Cut, but I don't know what kind of camcorder I want to get, I'm not going TOO fancy or anything, I am a student at the University of Cincinnati and I am learning media design and film,,, this camcorder is just meant to have good indoor and outdoor picture and to get my money's worth.

Right now I have a Sony Handycam MiniDV I bought back in 2005 but I feel that I need to update to get better quality. I am simply making these videos for experience and to get the main point across. Can someone please help me suggest good camcorders for TODAYS standard that will last me a while AND that will work with MAC obviously. Thank you

2. Moof1904 macrumors 65816

This is one of the most often posted question on this forum and it's not an easy one to answer, as the opinions on the matter are diverse and sometimes heated.

I'd approach this by first asking a few initial questions:

1) What's your budget? Don't forget accessories and other cost of ownership items that comprise the total cost.
    2) SD or HD? HD's all the rage right now but that doesn't mean that HD is the right answer for everyone. There are some amazingly fantastic indie pieces out there that are done on SD.
    3) Tape or tapeless? Again, strong arguments for both. Some like the archival benefits of tape and some prefer the faster transfer, as opposed to capturing in real time, that recording to memory cards offers.

Answering these three questions for yourself will go a long way towards making a decision...

3. BipolarNick thread starter macrumors newbie