Hi, first thread: How much RAM do I really need?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by High Five Ghost, Aug 30, 2012.

1. High Five Ghost macrumors member

High Five Ghost

I recently purchased a Mac Book PRO Retina 2.3 GHz with 8GB RAM.

I've been waffling back and forth about the RAM...

Is 8GB enough or should I return this and get one with 16GB?

I don't do any heavy computing, just basic stuff. I may dabble in Photoshop in the future or maybe something graphic wise - and I recently started playing WoW which runs fine. It'll probably be the only game I play on this.

Any tips?

Suggestions?

2. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

Orlandoech

8GB is plenty for you needs and what you do. PLENTY.

However If you plan on keeping the machine for 3-5 years, I would recommend 16GB. Also, if you already regret it, you probably always will, go for 16GB.

3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

To determine if you can benefit from more RAM, launch Activity Monitor and click the System Memory tab at the bottom to check your page outs. Page outs are cumulative since your last restart, so the best way to check is to restart your computer and track page outs under your normal workload (the apps, browser pages and documents you normally would have open). If your page outs are significant (say 1GB or more) under normal use, you may benefit from more RAM. If your page outs are zero or very low during normal use, you probably won't see any performance improvement from adding RAM.

Mac OS X: Reading system memory usage in Activity Monitor

4. High Five Ghost thread starter macrumors member

High Five Ghost

Its at zero. Thanks.

Would the Apple Store transfer my entire HDD and settings to the new one?

I do plan on keeping this machine for at least 5 years.

Really didn't want to wait for one to come in the mail when I was at the Apple Store... instant gratification.