Hi, im a newbie when it comes to lighting equipment. (NEED HELP!)

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by rudylovesfood, Feb 1, 2012.

1. rudylovesfood macrumors newbie

Hi, im a casual photographer, but i got offered to do a photo shoot this friday. I can finally put my skills to the test, but im also a bit worried about not taking the best pics for them. It's going to be a outdoor scene, so i cant bring my umbrellas with me. I was thinking about buying wireless transmitters and putting my speedlite on a stand with 1 umbrella. But i dont know too much about how that works. I love using my f.1.8 for the depth of field effect if that info helps. Or should i just use reflectors? Any help would be appreciated. (please dont bash on me for being a newbie)

Here's a page of couple of my pics if interested.
    http://rudylovesfood.tumblr.com/tagged/rudylovesfood

2. Doylem macrumors 68040

Doylem

I won't "bash on you for being a newbie", but the fact that you're asking these questions on an online forum suggests that you're not ready to do a paid photo shoot (at least, I assume you're being paid). Using untried techniques, with new and untried equipment, sounds like a recipe for disaster.

There's nothing you can learn between now and Friday :)eek:) that will help you. I'd suggest you will need to get some competence in any new photographic discipline... and that takes time. :)

3. Keleko macrumors 68000

You can do a lot with just a reflector and natural light. You won't become an expert by Friday, but you if you already have one you can practice with it some between now and then. You could also use the reflector to bounce the speedlight. I'd stick to nothing more than that because it keeps it simple.

I don't have a lot of experience in this matter, either. I'm starting with just a reflector and my speedlight on my own to learn and practice.

4. snberk103, Feb 1, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2012

snberk103 macrumors 603

Hi Rudy....