Hi i'm new here and new to mac with a problem

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ninditsu, Sep 30, 2009.

  1. ninditsu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #1
    Well here it goes
    i got a black macbook 1st gen with core duo, 1gb ram, 2GHz processor, running snow leopard

    it seems that when i turn it on, it plays the startup chime once fully and a shorter version right after a few times like it is on a loop. it goes on that loop for a few seconds and reboots itself going on that loop again. it does that a number of times (usually 3 times) until it finally shows the apple logo and reaches the desktop.

    but when it does reach the desktop, like every input (keyboard typing, use of trackpad, external usb mouse) seems to hang for a few minutes. eg. when i type, just pressing one key, types that letter in multiple times like, zzzzzz

    and only after that few minutes are over the computer becomes usable
    and actually pretty fast and i love it, after those few minutes.

    ya this is a used blackbook i got from my uncle

    somebody help, thanks!
    i've searched with multiple keywords here and in google, no luck
    i hope this problem requires only a simple solution
     
  2. oculus42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Location:
    Maine
    #2
    Sounds like a hardware/firmware problem. Check for a firmware update on Apple Downloads. No guarantees that there is one or that it will fix your problem, though.

    And, in the meantime, just put it to sleep, and backup your files.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Try repairing your permissions with Disk Utility. If that doesn't work, clean install of OS X seems to be the only option left.
     
  4. uberamd macrumors 68030

    uberamd

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #4
    If you have the original CD's, boot off of the Application CD while holding "D" I believe and it will run Apple Hardware Diagnostics and let you know if anything physically might be dying on you. Also a bump to 2 GB of RAM wouldn't hurt if its just a generic slowness problem.
     
  5. oculus42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Location:
    Maine
    #5
  6. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
    Have you reinstall the OS? If not and you don't have the disk, buy Snow Leopard.
     
  7. ninditsu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #7
    i have clean installed, nothing
    and disk utility only gives errors that cannot be repaired
    and i searched those errors, they seem to have no effect
    i have all updates installed already
    it most likely is a hardware problem
    sadly, my uncle lost his original discs
    is there any way to get a hold of a copy of those discs?
    do those discs need to be specific to my macbook?
    or can i use my snow leopard dvd? (to use the hardware diagnostics)
    thanks again
     
  8. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #8
    People, it's brand new. It should not be doing this!

    Where did you get it? Take it back and show them the problem. Tell them what you've done to try to fix it. Then politely ask for a replacement.
     
  9. ninditsu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #9
    @Gregg2: i said that in the OP
     
  10. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #10
    Yeah, because Apple is still making brand new Core Duo Blackbooks... :rolleyes:
     
  11. ninditsu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #12
  12. devburke Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #13
    Well if you tried clean installing, it’s definitely a hardware issue. I’m not an expert (at all), but I’d say your HD or your RAM is borked. Did the MacBook originally have AppleCare on it? If so, and you don’t have TechTool Deluxe, you can download it from https://support.apple.com/techtooldeluxe/main?id=dl

    I haven’t used TechTool myself, but I think it should be able to check (if not fix) your hardware issues, and at least help you find where the problem is.

    Or I could be wrong. Who knows.
     
  13. ninditsu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #14
    it doesn't help very much i tried it. but it would be good for later if my problems get fixed
     
  14. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #15
    Oops! That's what I get for skimming and stopping to soon, reading too fast... making rash assumptions, not knowing product names, etc.
     
  15. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #16
    If your Uncle were to contact Apple with proof of ownership, I believe that they can provide a copy of his original discs for a nominal charge. If your Snow Leopard disc is a retail copy the hardware diagnostics should run on your black MacBook.
     
  16. ninditsu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #17
    What do you mean about the Snow Leopard disc? Like i would need to pop it in and press a button during startup? or i don't need to have the disc?
     
  17. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #18
    Oops, I'm mistaken, Apple Hardware Test is only included with the original install discs. As far as I've been able to determine Apple Hardware Test is not included on OS X discs. Sorry.

    If you do get a hold of the original discs, here's how to run the Apple Hardware Test:

    :apple: Intel-based Macs: Using Apple Hardware Test
     
  18. nebarik macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #19
    hmm, as mentioned above this could be a os, hardware (topcase) or logic board problem.

    somethings not right with this computer.
     
  19. couto27 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    lisboa,portugal
    #20
    thats a lesson for everyone is buying used macs

    make the apple hardware test "d" on start to check original discks
     

Share This Page