Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Nghia Nguyen

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 11, 2010
California
I'm about to order the 15" i7 soon. I'll leave the country to travel in Asia for 3 months this summer, so I will tend to be outdoors a lot. On daily basis, I'm a college student and freelance graphic designer - I usually use my computer in class or at home (not too much outdoors).

I was debating about getting the regular glossy screen, or Hi-Res Anti-glare screen, just because the regular anti-glare doesn't seem to be offered. And sadly, it costs $150 extra ($135 for educational discount).

I read somewhere a while ago, matte screen gives more accurate colors on the screen, while glossy gives more popping and vivid colors. Tough choice for me. Based on what I mentioned above, do you guys recommend me to get the Hi-Res Anti-glare screen? Is it really worth the money? What's good and bad about both of them?

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
Glossy will look more saturated. Matte, in my opinion, has been easier to calibrate.

dusk007

macrumors 68040
Dec 5, 2009
much cheaper option if it is not the high res you need. Get one of the matt screen covers. They cost arround 30 bucks and work very well. You also still have the glass protecting the panel and can always go back to glossy.

JoeG4

macrumors 68030
Jan 11, 2002
I think not having glass is a good thing, and so are matte screens.

I know the whole bit about better color accuracy because the background lighting isn't causing your screen to be faded out, but ...... seriously? SERIOUSLY? Ugh.

I still don't like glossy screens at all XD

iWantMyMac

macrumors newbie
Jan 13, 2010
Any opinions on whether getting hi-res (whether matte or glossy) is worth it? Is $100-$150 worth it for 36% more pixels? I'm thinking of getting this option.

macpluslaptop

macrumors 6502
Jun 5, 2007
more information?