Hi8 to digital

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by rkeith, Apr 16, 2011.

1. rkeith macrumors newbie

I am a novice at movie making, but I have about 15 - Hi8 2 hour tapes that I want to edit into a movie. I am now retired and I thought this would be an interesting hobby/project. The first thing I did was send one of my Hi8 tapes out to have made into a DVD. Then I made an appointment with my local Apple Store for one-on-one training. I was disapointed when told by my trainer that Apple had no application for converting the DVD to iMovie. It was suggested that I purchase an ADVCmini and convert from Sony Hi8 camcorder to my iMac. I followed this advice and was able to convert a tape however the quality of the conversion is very poor (the picture is warped at the top of the frame and the sound doesn't sync). I used the S Video connection. I am looking for the most user friendly solution (not the lowest cost), I don't plan on shooting anymore with my Hi8, I just want to save what I have and work with it in iMovie. I presently have iMovie 08 7.1.4. I appreciate any help.

2. simsaladimbamba

If you already have the footage on DVD and can spend 20 USD, then look at these two short videos:
    1. Ripping a video DVD (copying a video DVD's content to your HDD)
    2. Transcoding the ripped video DVD to a format iMovie recognises

MRoogle is a good tool to search these fora for already existing threads about questions you have. It might be able to answer you quicker than waiting for an answer.

OR

3. Alucardx03 macrumors 6502a

Ingesting the tapes directly into your iMac is ALWAYS going to be a better solution than ripping DVDs.

Think about it this way-- the tapes are ingested and compressed to fit on DVDs, which degrades video quality substantially. Then, you're ripping that degraded video and compressing/encoding it again. Whereas, if you ingest it natively, you can save it at it's full quality.