Hide the dock?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by brosmooth, Aug 19, 2009.

?

Do you hide the dock?

  1. yes

    23 vote(s)
    43.4%
  2. no

    30 vote(s)
    56.6%
  1. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  3. rkdiddy macrumors 65816

    rkdiddy

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    OC Baby!
  4. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Yes! I recently started doing it and it makes a greater workspace on the desktop. Paired with making the dock shorter and turning magnification on it is the complete package imo. I can't believe I didn't do it sooner! :rolleyes:
     
  5. GeekLawyer macrumors demi-god

    GeekLawyer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    The post is coming from inside the house!
    #6
    The poll is flawed. I hide the dock on my Macbook and show the dock on my iMac. ;)


    The thread you referenced is from nearly three years ago and includes no poll. (Flawed as this one is. ;))
     
  6. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #7
    I don't hide the Dock. Thought about it several times but always preferred having it visible for icon badges and such. Instead I decided to move it to the right side of the screen so I could have more vertical viewing area while still keeping the Dock visible at all times.
     
  7. helloimD4NNY macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #8
    Yes, I do hide the dock. I also moved it to the left side of my screen. I just wished there was a little icon on the top bar(next to the airport symbol and such) that displayed if you have a new IM for iChat.
     
  8. rcf-dds macrumors member

    rcf-dds

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Location:
    Cleveland & Columbus, OH
    #9
    noooo, never - just minimize the size of the icons!

    it would just feel so naked not having those little icons conveniently at the bottom
     
  9. Ooz Guest

    #11
    Yeah, even though I have a 24" gorgeous screen to work on. The added real estate comes in handy!
     
  10. MarkCooz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #12
    No... on a 13" macbook. ehhh, but once i can get an external, a mighty mouse, and that awesome wireless keyboard! then we're good to go

    what's the biggest screen can the macbook have? like external screen, and what resolution?
     
  11. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #13
    One looses some valuable screen real estate if your not hiding that dock.
     
  12. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #14
    Yes AND no.

    MBP: yes, hidden
    Server (remote access): no, dock is shown.
     
  13. nutmac macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #15
    I wish there was "auto hide" mode that is triggered not only by the mouse movement but windows opened. If none of the windows overlap in the dock area, show the dock. Moving the window to overlap the dock (or hitting the green "+" button requires window to overlap) should trigger the dock to hide.
     
  14. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #16
    I hide it now on my 15" MBP

    but i didn't hide it before when i had a 24" iMac
     

Share This Page