Hiding an App's Toolbar... Permanently?

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by fatrushets, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. fatrushets macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #1
    Hello!

    I'd like to begin by saying that I don't know anything about programming on a mac. I've modified some applications in terms of GUI and some minor behavior but I've done this mostly by following the steps of guides I find online.

    My question: Is it possible to hide the toolbar in an application permanently? I use an app that has the clear button on the upper right hand corner of the window to toggle the visibility of the app's toolbar. The thing is that once the app is closed and reopened, the toolbar becomes visible again. Does anyone know if it is possible to prevent it from reappearing every time the app is launched? Maybe through adding a plist key?

    It would be so awesome if you could help me! Thanks in advance!
     
  2. fernandovalente macrumors 6502

    fernandovalente

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    Third world **** hole, I mean, Brazil
    #2
    You can use this function to hide the toolbar when the app starts(before the user can see it):
    You would have to edit code. PM me and I would be glad to help you on iChat or MSN.
     
  3. fatrushets thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #3
    Thanks for your response Fernando! I have never modified the actual code of any application. Do you think it would be a difficult or risky process? Is it even possible with an already existing app (as in downloaded over the internet)?

    The application in question is AppCleaner, by the way. It would be incredibly useful if you could download it (or already have it) so you can see what I mean. I hope something can be done... Being a minimalist, I think the application looks a thousand times better with no tool bar, hehe!

    Thank you very much in advance, brother!
     
  4. fernandovalente macrumors 6502

    fernandovalente

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    Third world **** hole, I mean, Brazil
    #4
    I can't say if it's difficult because it really depends of the written code and of your programming knowledge. If you're talking about modifying compiled apps downloaded from the web without having their source code, you can edit their interface on Interface Builder if the nibs are not compiled. If you want to modify any other part of the application, you must "reverse" the process. I've seen some programs that "decompile" apps written in Java, but I have never seen it for any other language. Editing compiled apps normally done with Assembly(good luck, this is really difficult). Note that it may be ilegal in some countries.

    I saw what you want to modify, it can be done if the NIB you need to modify is not compiled. Do you have its source code?
     
  5. fatrushets thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #5
    Dang... I don't have the source code, and as I said before, I know nothing about mac programming. I'm guessing it would be an impossible mission for me in that case, right? It's fine, though. It was just a minor irritating quirk. No biggie. :)

    In any case, thanks a lot, Fernando. I really appreciate your concern and your help! Keep being awesome, man!
     
  6. fernandovalente macrumors 6502

    fernandovalente

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    Third world **** hole, I mean, Brazil
    #6
    As I said, you can edit the interface with Interface Builder, which is not dificult. You would just have to delete somethings from the interface. Try this for editing compiled NIBS:

    http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20081121083323825

    NOTE: I haven't tried it.

    You're welcome :)
     
  7. fatrushets thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #7
    Fernando, I downloaded XCode with Interface Builder. I have been opening some of the nibs I can find in the Resources folder of the app, but I can't figure out where the toolbar is or how to keep it hidden. The nibs I can find under the English.Iproj are:
    - About.nib
    - History.nib
    - MainMenu.nib
    - Preferences.nib

    Under the MainMenu nib I think I found the main application window. I don't see any reference to the menu, though. Any ideas? Am I looking in the wrong place?
     
  8. fernandovalente macrumors 6502

    fernandovalente

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    Third world **** hole, I mean, Brazil
    #8
    I just tried editing it, but I couldn't get it to be displayed the way you want. This is probably done programmatly. If you had the source code, I could help you. Sorry :(
     
  9. fatrushets thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #9
    Yeah... I've been reading up a bit about toolbar programing, and I figured that would be the problem. The app is not open source so I guess I ran out of options.

    Thanks anyway, bro! You've been very helpful :)
     
  10. fernandovalente macrumors 6502

    fernandovalente

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    Third world **** hole, I mean, Brazil
    #10
    You haven't ran out of option. You still can decompile it, but this is very hard to do. So, I would say you ran out of options. Sorry, I couldn't solve the problem. :(
     
  11. chown33 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #11
    Why not contact the developer and ask for the "no toolbars ever" feature?
     

Share This Page