Hiding IP address?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ruds, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. ruds macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #1
    Apologies if this isn't the right place for this question or if the question subjects isn't actually correct. Here is my problem.

    I am from the UK although for the next month I am in the US. I have a betting account in the UK which I actually use as a source of income as well as fun :rolleyes: However I cannot access it from the US because of the site's (William Hill) restrictions. Is there a way of hiding where I am so that I am able to login to the site? For the first two weeks of my trip it was working fine and now they have blocked my login, possibly after I tried withdrawing funds.

    Once again I'm sorry for this being off topic but I can't think of anywhere else to put this and I am using a mbp if that gives it some relevance :)

    Thank you
     
  2. AdamRock macrumors 6502a

    AdamRock

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    you cant hide your ip, any website you visit, your ip will show up.

    but you can change it, personally the easiest way to change it IMO is a mac address clone then disable after 5 mins and you will get a new IP.

    also if you are trying to break the websites restrictions based of GEO Location, i dont think anyone can help as helping break rules if against macrumors TOS.
     
  3. SDub90 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Location:
    Long Island
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Use a proxy or a find a VPN provider with servers in the UK.

    The VPN route would be more secure.
     
  4. haruhiko macrumors 68040

    haruhiko

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
  5. ruds thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #6
    Thank you for your help guys, I'll follow up the suggestions and see if I can get logged in, I appreciate you help and sorry if I've broken any rules :)
     
  6. SavMBP15 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #7
    Yes, VPN is the way to go (only use paid service if doing something that needs security).

    Its not illegal. I use it all the time as I live in the Middle East temporarily, but use a U.S. VPN so I can still purchase stuff from Amazon, Ebay, watch Hulu, etc.
     
  7. Fubar1977 macrumors 6502a

    Fubar1977

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, UK
  8. ender land macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #9
    A lot of financial websites or banks will lock out accounts if you withdraw money overseas.

    I would try contacting them regarding that first as based on what you have said that seems likely.
     
  9. ruds thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #10
    Yes that is exactly what I think caused it, I tried to withdraw money and since then I cannot log back in. I emailed them and they said WH was not available in the US and I figured they had some way of monitoring where I was as a result. Maybe I can get someone to log back in from the UK and that will remove the lock until I try withdrawing again from the US (which I won't :D)

    Thank you once again!
     
  10. lvick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #11
    I use Hotspot Shield, its free and does the job. Its free because they put ad's on webpages you load while it is active.
     
  11. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #12
    I use hotspot shield as well.
    Works fine but be aware because its not the fastest.
     
  12. Acorn macrumors 68020

    Acorn

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    macrumors
    #13
    ive used free proxy services in the past just for fun for a short time to try and be more private but it was to slow for me for everyday use. However I think its what others have mentioned and your bank locked it because they saw this guy is from uk and it was accessed from usa so they locked it. so a proxy may not be needed.
     
  13. joeycool macrumors member

    joeycool

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
  14. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #15
    You could also just setup a VPN with your home Internet in the UK. Or that of parents or friends. Whoever has a Desktop PC or fancy router with a flatrate.
    It is free and not as annoyingly slow as public proxies which are darn hard to find too.
    Private VPN clients exist a lot. I think one is called hamachi or something similar.
     
  15. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #16
    If you have a machine running in the UK, you could use something like LogMeIn to remote control your desktop and do what you want from there.
     
  16. AppleMacFinder macrumors 6502a

    AppleMacFinder

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #17
    I feel it is my duty to reply to this thread :D
    There are two different approaches to this problem:

    Onion routing - Tor
    Garlic routing - I2P

    Choose which is more convenient and suitable for your needs ;)
     

Share This Page