High Contrast Display Problem

Discussion in 'macOS' started by thetussinmonstr, Jun 25, 2013.

1. thetussinmonstr macrumors member

Hey guys. I'm having an issue with screen contrast.

I work in finance, about 70 hours/week, and about 68.379 of those hours are spent staring at Access and Excel. I need a high contrast screen, and the only option I know of for Mac is pretty inefficient. Control+Option+Command+8 basically just inverts black and white, and ruins all images.

I know that In Windows there is a high contrast option that retains the display of application icons, menu buttons and pictures. Does Macintosh not have this ability? If not, does anyone know of any good third-party software??

Thanks guys, cheers.

2. chown33 macrumors 604

System Preferences > Accessibility pane.

Select "Display" in the left-hand list.

The right-hand sub-pane should show:
    - checkbox: Invert colors
    - checkbox: Use grayscale
    - slider: Enhance Contrast <-- use this
    - slider: Cursor Size

The "Enhance Contrast" slider up/down can be given keyboard shortcuts under:
    System Preferences > Keyboard > Shortcuts > Accessibility

The keyboard shortcut you cited is just "Invert colors". There's a lot more to Accessibility than that.

You can also adjust color balance and contrast by "calibrating" your display.
    System Preferences > Displays > Color > Calibrate... pushbutton.

3. thetussinmonstr thread starter macrumors member

Hm, I appreciate your response but this doesn't work.

In Windows - and certain Linux distros - you can invert colors for everything other than images. Then you are still able to clearly see icons, pictures and toolbar buttons. I can't find anyway for this to be done on Mac.

PS: For what it's worth, I'm running 10.6.8 - thanks!

4. Drew017 macrumors 65816

Drew017

Try enhancing the contrast by moving the slider in system preferences> accessibility> display

[​IMG]

5. benwiggy macrumors 68020