High-end Non Retina Macbook pro or Base Retina Macbook pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Votre Altesse, Jul 12, 2012.

1. Votre Altesse macrumors newbie

Hello everyone, i am kinda new here.

I have been using my acer laptop for 3.5 years. I am considering a macbook pro since I will be entering uni soon. It is really a tough decision for me to make between the two, maybe some of you kind souls out there can offer me your valuable opinions?

I love the retina macbook pro because its only 2kg, even lighter den a non-retina 13 inch macbook. However, since i'm a business student, i will quite frequently run application in boot camp. After reading through some comments, i notice that retina display dont really run well with windows. I will also be playing some not so intensive games such as league of legends and I heard that the gpu that retina has does not really compliment its retina display meaning that running game on such high resolution wouldn't make the gaming experience exceptional. I've some questions regarding retina macbook. For flash storage, is it true that if the flash storage is corrupted, it is impossible to retrieve the data even if you are willing to part with the money unlike the traditional hard disk? Also is the cooling system better in the normal macbook pro or retina macbook pro? Also, is 256gb enough for me to run boot camp? I don't usually store music, movies or videos on my laptop. My current acer laptop has 320GB HDD and after 3.5 years i still have about 120GB left. Most probably I will be using this for the next 4 years

Thanks in advance for any replies Cheers

2. Vampire5003 macrumors 6502