High Res Screen and My Poor Eyes

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JustGetnStarted, Jan 10, 2008.

1. JustGetnStarted macrumors newbie

Hi, I'm a newbie.

I'm looking at getting a Macbook Pro with the high res screen. I’d love to have that screen for doing video work. However, my poor eyes are straining to read such small fonts on things like floating palettes. Is it possible to scale an application’s palette to a larger size? Like for examples MS Words Palette.

I'm JustGetnStarted

2. Jasper2k macrumors newbie

Old Man regrets buying the HD

(Well, knowing that I'll soon be crucified and flamed endlessly) I will admit to buying the 17" HD and now seriously regretting it. I'm pushing 50, wear progressive lenses (a cute way of saying OLD MAN BIFOCALS) and the 17" screen at 1920 x 1200 is extremely hard for me in daily use. I had tried the 1600 and 1920's at the store, and then spent a day playing with the HD 1920 that I borrowed from a work colleague and convinced myself I could handle it. Now I regret my decision - the HD is an amazing screen, it's my old eyes that suck.

Of course, I could run it in 1600 but I'm picky as heck and can't stand LCD scaling off the native panel resolution.

Maybe when the apps and UI catch up to resolution independence in the OS down the road, I'll feel differently. For now, I'm buying an ACD to correct my own mistake. :)

3. JustGetnStarted thread starter macrumors newbie

I've done a little researching and I think I found something on Apple's discussion site that may help - I think.

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=6004786&tstart=0

I'm JustGetnStarted

4. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

CubeHacker