Higher resolution (not 4k) via HDMI?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by km9898, Mar 6, 2014.

  1. km9898 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #1
    So i've been searching around and found nothing about connecting a display that has bigger resolution than 1080p, but not 4k, like my Dell Ultrasharp u2713hm - via HDMI. Reason is that i have a few Thunderbolt devices which doesn't have two TB-ports and because of that i can't daisy chain them.

    This leaves me with my screen not connected because of those two TB devices that i have to have connected all the time.

    So, I've been reading up on connecting 4k displays via HDMI with a result of 4k resolution but with 30hz. How is it when connecting HDMI -> Displayport cable to the Dell Ultrasharp? Can i get full resolution at 2440x1440?

    Its on my rMBP 2012.
     
  2. km9898 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #2
    Okay so I've just tried a single HDMI-> Dvi-D cable which gave me no more than 1080p. I've also tried HDMI->Displayport cable which also gave me that crappy resolution.

    Because my DELL screen only allows higher resolutions via display port and Dvi-D (not HDMI), how could i then connect this screen via HDMI to get the better resolutions?

    Right now I'm having it connected from minidp(thunderbolt port)->display port and it works great but then i have one less tb-port on my macbook pro...
     
  3. philxor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #3
    I know in the past this was more of an OSX limitation than a hardware limitation but I thought they lifted some of that in Mavericks, but maybe it was only for the Haswell rMBP?

    For instance I know in the past people could boot into Windows via bootcamp and get 2560x1440 on an external display but not in OSX since the drivers didn't support it.
     
  4. km9898 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #4
    I haven't tried it on bootcamp though but i thought it would work since i have the latest DP 10.9.3 which enables 4k via HDMI out, should be 4k via HDMI out on 10.9.2 too but with lower fps. I just got nothing, only 1080p. Haven't tried with a 4k monitor but if it should output 4k resolution, why can't it output 2560x1440 then?
     
  5. ha1o2surfer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #5
    I know HDMI can support 2560x1440 at like 56hz or something weird like that since I run it on my current laptop (not macbook pro). I have tried it on a my Macbook Pro and never could get it to work either. I have yet to try SwitchResX to force a resolution and refresh rate but I can certainly try it out once I dig out my 2012 MBP which I never use haha
     
  6. km9898 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #6
    From what i've heard, its only the rMBP which output higher then 1080p via HDMI out. You're having a rMBP right?

    Its so strange because I've seen a few peeps that actually runs 4k monitors via HDMI on a exactly same macbook pro retina 2012 that i have, but i cant even get 2560x1440. For me, thats strange :confused:
     
  7. ha1o2surfer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #7
    Sorry mistyped; rMBP. Technically any HDMI 1.3a capable device can support 4k and any resolution in between but again so can VGA... It maybe be a software limitation but I can't put my finger on it.

    Just hooking up the monitor (2560x1440 Dell) in OSX only shows a couple resolutions; 1280x800 1680x1050 and 1920x1200. Hooking the same monitor up to my G46VW shows all resolutions from 320x480 to 2560x1440 (I tried all 3 ports, VGA, DP and HDMI on the monitor). The limited resolutions in OSX must be the DPI modes. Switch Res X wont keep 2560x1440 enabled no matter what. very weird, this is the first time I have tried it to be honest.
     
  8. km9898 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #8
    So you do get over 1080p then? Not native resolution but a little bit over 1080p. I just have 1080p and 720p as scaling options. What cable type are you using on your dell?

    Yeah, it is weird. But 10.9.3 should have native 4k resolutions enabled from HDMI out. So the question is, why does it not work with 2560x1440?
     
  9. ha1o2surfer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #9
    Well 10.9.3 enabled 4k to play nicely with all monitors and allowed a selection to be made in the display options without weird screen glitches I believe. But yea, I get 1200p as an option just fine. I may try using a DP to HDMI adapter to see if I can get any other resolutions or if i can force 1440p over it.

    I am using a 10 foot Monoprice redmeire cable http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=102&cp_id=10255&cs_id=1025508&p_id=10770&seq=1&format=2

    These cables support HDMI 2.0 spec so I figured they were of higher quality.. lol idk

    EDIT: My Monitor is a Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor - U2713HM so same thing as yours lol
     
  10. km9898 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #10
    Okay this is strange. I have as i stated 10.9.3 DP and i buyed a HDMI cable that should be HDMI version 1.4. When i plug it in into the Dell uh2713hm i only get 1080p. Also when i try a HDMI->DP cable. Also tried HDMI->HDMI(adapter to DP), and HDMI->DVI-D. Any of them could get me more then 1080p.

    Also when reading up on this, the dell screen that i have can't show more than 1080p via its own HDMI input. Its the u2713H (read the little M after H) that can have higher resolutions via HDMI.

    So my option i think should be to try a HDMI1.4->DP1.2 cable which i buyed on ebay now. Have to see if thats helping me out somehow here..
     
  11. ha1o2surfer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #11
    Oh I see.. so I'm not helping at all! Didn't know that little bit of information. Sorry man!

    I tried the DP to HDMI adapter and the screen didn't work at all. It's an older adapter made for an older ATI card so that could be my problem as well..
     
  12. km9898 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #12
    Screw this, I'm going to buy the Apple Thunderbolt Display instead. So nice to have a display without sacifying any TB port on the computer itself :D

    Thanks for your input anyway and if any other know anything, please let me know :)
     
  13. mfram macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    #13
    I have an older Dell U2711 monitor. At least on that monitor, it will only do 1080p with an HDMI input. So regardless of what the Mac does, it's possibly that the monitor you are talking about will only do 1080p over HDMI.

    I can verify that on the U2711, a mini-DP to DP cable going to my first-gen rMBP will drive the full resolution. I think the only way are going to drive the Dell at full res is using one of the TB ports with a mDP to DP cable.
     

Share This Page