Higher resolution under windows via Boot Camp than OSX?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by RemyX, Apr 13, 2007.

  1. RemyX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    #1
    Hello everyone, was just wondering why i can set the resolution higher on my 20' iMac under Vista using Boot Camp up to 1680x1050 compared to the max on OSX which is 1280x854. Is there anyway i can reach that kind of resolution on the OSX side? Thanks in advance.

    -Remy
     
  2. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #2
    You should be able to set it to 1680x1050 in OS X also. Not sure why you can't if you can't.
     
  3. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #3
    Are you talking about the built-in 20" screen? If so, then you should be able to set the screen resolution to 1680x1050, as that is the display's native resolution.

    If you can't, it sounds like you may have an issue with the display system preference. Maybe something's corrupted.

    ft
     
  4. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    As others have said, you can do 1680x1050 on your mac, but as your a newb you may not know how.


    Well


    click on the system preferences icon on the dock bar

    or click on the apple in the top menu and choose system preferences


    Once that window is open, choose 'Displays'

    Then from the drop down menu choose 1680x1050.

    For a shortcut, check the 'show displays on menu bar' button.


    Hey presto your sorted,
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Something is hokey, though, if you have a 20" iMac and it is not defaulted to 1680x1050. All Macs with built-in screens are shipped with their resolution set to the native resolution of the screen.
     
  6. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    ^ true, but someone may have inadvertantly changed the resolution if they have little experience of mac osX
     
  7. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #7

    Kind of harsh arn't we?

    They could also try removing ~/Library/Preferences/UniversalAccess.plist onto the desktop and restart. That is if the screen resolution won't let him choose anything else but 1280x854.
     
  8. Konradx macrumors 6502

    Konradx

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #8
    You dont have to be rude. Just because someone might not know the answer, you dont have to call them the newb.

    Just my thoughts.

    And the default resolution should be native, unless someone has changed it, or something is wonky.
     
  9. wizwaz3 macrumors 6502a

    wizwaz3

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    #9
    Don't think it was meant, or even sounds harsh at all. The OP is, in fact a "macrumors newbie". Don't just automatically assume that MacRumorUser was being mean. You know what they say about assumptions... Now, play nicely children. :p
     
  10. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    ^ Exactly.

    I was not calling him newb in a dispareging way at all.

    I read his profile and saw that he was new. As he was running windows as well, I took a logical thought process and assumed he was new to mac os X, especially considering he was not sure about what resolution his screen should be, somthing anyone familar to macs would know.



    If the word newb and newbie is now somthing offensive, maybe we should change the titles altogether.
     

Share This Page