Highest Compatible Handbrake Preset for iPhone and AppleTV both

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by NCRobino, Oct 23, 2014.

  1. NCRobino macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #1
    Hello all,

    So I am trying to convert some things into mp4 file form so that I can import them into my iTunes Library and use them for both home theater viewing through my Apple TV 3 in the highest possible video quality with 5.1 audio for the best home theater experience streamed from my computer.... yet still have videos that will play on my iphones and ipads when I want to load them on and take them with me.

    Can anyone please help me configure a preset for this highest quality and multi channel audio that will play through both Apple TV and also sync to my idevices and play too? Is this even possible?

    If not, what do you guys do? Do you put your Apple TV movies in highest quality and keep the seperate of versions for your ios devices? Apple Store bought movies and also digital copies all look great and play great all on all devices... yet I can't quite replicate this myself using Handbrake and would appreciate any help!

    Many thanks
    Rob

    PS. I also accidentally deleted the Apple TV 3 preset and can't get it back, any help there?
     
  2. rritterson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    DC USA
    #2
    uninstall handbrake and reinstall it. That should bring back the preset. The Apple TV 3 preset will work fine for both iPhone and Apple TV presuming the iPhone is newer than the Apple TV, as the h.264 feature set is set by the SoC, which is currently an A5 in the ATV3. Newer SoCs support even more features.

    The preset is about the same as the 1080p videos available from the iTunes store. The downside is that they are large files, so you can't store many of them on your iPhone unless you have the large storage capacity model.
     
  3. NCRobino thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #3
    Great! Even with 5.1 audio? Lastly, will the files also work on my iPad 3?
     
  4. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #4
    yes it will

    ATV3 is the good choice becasue it will be large enough for a TV and the smaler screens(iphone, ipad) will just shrink it to fitm which is better than stretching it
     
  5. NCRobino thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #5
    All sounds good. One problem remains, I uninstalled and reinstalled the handbrake application and the AppleTV 3 preset remains gone! Now what?

    ----------

    Never mind, there is an option in handbrake to reset built in presets and that restored it!

    Thanks, I'll give it a try and let ya know how it goes.
     
  6. rritterson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    DC USA
    #6
    If you are using a Mac, look into a program called "Subler". It pulls metadata from publicly available sources, including the iTunes Store, and sets the cover art, descriptions, etc.
     
  7. NCRobino thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #7
    Thanks man! Sadly I am not on a Mac, any equivalent program for a PC? That would really help the process I am starting! Any other tips and tricks to getting my library backed up and converted into file form would be great!
     
  8. NCRobino thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #8
    New Problem

    Ok, I am so frustrated.

    So I imported a movie using Apple TV3 setting. The movie loaded into my itunes library fine. I sync'd my iphone 6 and put the movie on the phone, but it wouldn't play. It would load and quickly stop playing with a spinning circle in the top right corner. This is on my iphone 6 running ios 8.1 (but this is the same problem from before the upgrade that I thought had to do with file incompatibity).

    So I deleted the movie that I created and imported that wouldn't play. I now attempt to sync and load the movie again and it says itunes was unable to load the movie, period.

    What gives? I mean, this is 2014 right, shouldn't we be able to add movies and play them without all this drama? The file is from a DVD, created with Handbrake and it all seems so unreliable.

    I really want to convert all these discs to a file so I can enjoy them outside my home, but I feel I cannot start until I get this down to a reliable science and I feel far from that at this point. Any further help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  9. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #9
    odd I do it all the time

    does the file play in iTunes?
     
  10. NCRobino thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #10
    Yes, plays file in tunes and streams to Apple tv fine, just won't sync to iOS decices. This is why I thought all along that there was something in the higher quality Apple tv setting that wasn't compatible with the iOS devices. And these are just my SD conversions. What's gonna happen to compatibility when I start doing Blu rays?
     

Share This Page