Highres eye strain?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bdinger, Jan 22, 2012.

1. bdinger macrumors member

bdinger

Hi All,
    I'm a newbie here, but not to Macs (or machines in general). I recently, as in Friday, finally purchased a new 15in MBP. Friday's machine was a highres matte model with the 2.5 i7 that the store thankfully stocked, as was the model I was dead set on. Then I brought it home and used it.

I found myself straining quite a bit to see text on the display with it on my lap, so generally it ended up on my chest or belly. That annoyed me pretty quickly, so yesterday I drove back and swapped it with a normal res glossy 2.4 15. My reasoning was based on a test I did, wherein I found my eyes seem to be the most comfortable with displays in the 110 ppi and less range. My external monitors are all 1920x1080 24's, and my white MacBook hits right in the range with it's 1280x800 panel.

Another factor was that I previously had a laptop that I wanted to love, a old Dell Inspiron 8600, that had a 1680x1050 panel. Despite how high end of a PC at the time it was, I never could love it because the display left my eyes tired, strained, and watery.

So, my question is, how do you handle it? I'm still on the fence about keeping my second MBP, which I love, but I need to do some more testing with the glossy display. Generally, 90-95% of the time it will be plugged into an external monitor, but the 5-10% that it won't I won't be able to tolerate it annoying me. Hence, my reasoning behind going back to the standard res, but now having reservations of the reflections.

And, ironically enough, I do find myself missing the brilliance of the antiglare that I had for a day. The colors were, in a word, phenomenal. I'm pretty particular about things like that and I really couldn't believe it, it's what sealed the deal for me when I was trying it in my brief trial at the Apple Store.