Highschool student which MBP to buy

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Piehead, May 11, 2010.

1. Piehead macrumors newbie

Hey everyone,

I'm a complete newbie to this site, so I'm not to sure if this is in the right spot. Anyways, I am going into grade 11 next year and have been really wanting a MBP. For the past year or two I have been drooling over them in the apple store, or in YouTube videos.

I do not want to buy a PC ever again, because I am sick and tired of all the headaches. I was thinking of finally purchasing a 13 Macbook Pro either the 2.4 Ghz or the 2.66 ghz model. I would be using the laptop for light gaming, like the sims, or COD 4. I would also use it for word processing/ keynote and Internet browsing. I might also do a bit of video editing (HD). Do you think the 13 MBP would handle all my needs. I also have an Acer 22 inch moniter to plug into at home.

I have like 1500 dollars saved up and I want to buy it relatively soon. ( I am from Canada so the prices are a bit higher then in the states.) Should I buy the 13 inch or save up more for the 15 inch with a 2.4 i5? I also want the laptop to last me a good 4 to 5 years.

Cheers,
    piehead

2. shadygrove macrumors regular

Some might disagree, but for all that you said you wanted to do I would go with something that has a discrete GPU, not just an integrated one. I would go with the bottom 15''. At the point of already spending $1500, I wouldn't let 2 or 3 hundred dollars be the deciding factor in the laptop I choose.

That said, you could probably get away with a 13'' but the i5 + discrete GPU would totally be worth the few hundred extra dollars, plus you get a bigger screen.

3. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

13" is good, just don't expect high graphics and FPS

4. murdercitydevil macrumors 68000

murdercitydevil

My vote goes for the 15" as well. For me, I was either going to get an MBP with a descrete GPU or no MBP at all.

5. elpmas macrumors 68000

elpmas