hight send data rate, but why?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Jurph, Feb 12, 2012.

  1. Jurph macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #1
    Hi everybody!

    I just noticed today that my 2009 27'' Imac with SL is sending away a lot of data, something like 30kB/sec CONSTANTLY - meaning that it does even if I try to quit all applications.

    Can somebody explain me this?

    Here's a screenshot of the activity monitor, as you can see there isn't much going on, except for the hight data rate:

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1004992/Screen shot 2012-02-12 at 17.39.33.png
     

    Attached Files:

  2. whiteonline macrumors 6502

    whiteonline

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Location:
    California, USA
    #2
    I'm thinking it's possibly one of two things.

    syncserver: process for iCloud synchronization
    or
    netsession_mac: p2p utility (Akamai) used by Netflix and possibly Adobe.
     
  3. Jurph thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
  4. arpanet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #4
    Hello,

    I have a couple of suggestions using "Activity Monitor"

    a) Upper right pulldown menu item: select "All Processes" rather than "My Processes"

    b) Try monitoring cpu rather than network, and view traffic by first
    adding message traffic to the table displayed by selecting
    View->Columns, and adding "Messages Sent" and "Messages Received"

    Sort on messages.

    Another idea, using "Terminal" aka command line, look for connections to other places

    netstat -a | less or
    netstat -ar | less

    ...curious to see what you find.
     
  5. Jurph thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #5
    it's gone now

    hello arpanet.
    i did what you suggested, this was what i found after a fresh boot.

    I noticed that the data transfer started only when I attach an external hdd and that remembered me that I tried Crashplan some time ago, set up a backup but never bothered to start the app again since it was too slow for me. Now i checked and deleted all settings about any backup and the data transfer is gone!

    probably it was a process somehow related to crashplan (the actual app wasn't running)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. arpanet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #6
    Sounds like your memory may have led you to a fix! Congratulations.

    Funny coincidence, I'm a regular user of Crashplan. I noticed in your screenshots that java was being run. Perhaps you can see more using the command line, via "Terminal". I am quite used to seeing the java app
    associated with CrashPlan.

    ps -ef | grep java

    If you see crashplan in the list of parameters associated with that java process you're definitely onto it. Or maybe it will lead you somewhere else.

    Note: Crashplan includes an Uninstall in their disk image and this is the recommended way to remove the app. If you did it by
    hand, make sure to get rid of /Library/LaunchDaemons/com.crashplan.engine.plist

    -Cheers
     

Share This Page