Hillegass Challenge

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by BS0D, Feb 23, 2011.

1. BS0D macrumors newbie

BS0D

Hey all,

I am a newbie at Objective-C. I bought Cocoa Programming for Mac OS X by Hillegass a few days ago and I'm on CHAPTER 5.

There is this challenge that I'm having a hard time with. I'm supposed to display a string which would contain :

- the string entered in the text field
    - the number of characters that that strings contains

in a label (text field).

Here is my code, maybe you can help me :

Code:
    #import "AppController.h"

@implementation AppController

-(void)setStringValue:(NSString *)theString {

}

-(IBAction)countChars:(id)sender {

NSString *theString = [textField stringValue];
    	NSString *theResult = [theString length];

NSLog(@"The RESULT IS : %d", theResult);
    		int length;
    	if ([theString length] == 0) {
    		NSLog(@"la chaine de %@ est vide", textField);
    		[theCount setStringValue:@"Please enter something in the field !"];
    }
                    // works fine up to here
    		NSLog(@"'%@' contains %d characters", theString, theResult);
    		// Here i want to display sthg like "blah blah blah contains 18 characters" ------
                    // but having a hard time with the stringWithFormat: fonction ...
                    // something like 
                    // [NSString stringWithFormat:@"'%@' contains %@ characters...", theString,theResult];

}

@end
    I commented the part where I'm having a hard time using stringWithFormat:

Can anyone give me a hand, and maybe help me make this code better (i get warnings from Xcode)

Thanks in advance

2. BS0D thread starter macrumors newbie

BS0D

Problem solved:

Code:

-(IBAction)countChars:(id)sender {

NSString *theString = [textField stringValue];
    	NSString *theResult = [theString length];

finalResult = [NSString stringWithFormat:@"'%@' contains %d characters...", theString,theResult];
    		//NSLog(@"The RESULT IS : %d", theResult);