History lesson required, Considering G4 PPC and know little or nothing about them...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Captain Pyro, Aug 6, 2008.

1. Captain Pyro macrumors member

hello,

I'm currently running a c2d imac on 10.4.11 having switched from windows over a year ago.

The imac is shared with my wife, so i can't necessarily always get at it.

I'm starting up a small photographic business, part time initially, and want to do it on a shoestring rather than borrowing a wad and never seeing the end of it.

camera gear etc is all covered already, and i'm a photoshop veteran. i really don't know why i persisted with pc's so long. :apple: :)

i need a capable machine and cheap. huge hard drives aren't too important to me as i'll be burning off on a regular basis. firewire 400 at least and full speed usb2.0 are crucial... i be;ieve some macs od this era come with usb 1.1 disguised as 2.0? Ethernet- at least 100baseT, 1000 would be nice for future but i think that's reaching on a machine of this age. :rolleyes:

some flavour of 10.4 is a must. i suppose 10.5 could happen, but i have yet to be persuaded it's a 'must have' upgrade.

memory is easily sorted. Just ask mr crucial. :D

not sure about the processors... i know those old RISC PPc's are surprisingly quick for their clock speeds. Is an 800-odd mhz going to seem really slow? in photoshop CS2/Lightroom/NX2? NX2's a hog anyway and tbh, after playing with it on trial vs CS3, i think it's main target is people who would consider Elements on an 8 way PowerMac. I seem to have missed something. Am I correct in thinking that a UB like CS3 is non-PPC?

what do they use for graphics cards? how easy are they to upgrade? can i jsut whack any agp card in or am i limited? as far as disply is concerned, am i right in thinking that it's only if you have an ADC connector that you absoloutely HAVE to have an apply screen, ie, a DVI is a DVI is a DVI, ditto 15pin dsub VGA?