HL2 crashes on my Mac

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by ionsko, Feb 11, 2009.

1. ionsko macrumors newbie

Hi everybody,

I'm new to this so please don't be hard on me.

Couple of days ago I got Crossover and then the HL2 game, which I ran together with Crossover.
    Got it installed and everything but now...

My Half Life 2 crashes at startup, what's that all about? Some kind of sound problem? cuz..

It keeps loading until I get to the menu where some sound lagg and then it shuts down without any messege.

I'm eager to play this game so could someone please tell me what to do? Or what this might be?

Is there some settings I should change in the Launch options for HL2 in the Steam Games Menu?

(Mac OS X 2.1 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM, Macbook)

2. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

aznguyen316

I had this issue just yesterday on my mac via crossover games.

First do you have the intel x3100?

A couple things you can do but since we don't have the same chipset we'll have to see what works best for you.

I assume you're using steam, so right click on Hl2 and click properties then click launch properties. enter this in w/o quotes

"-console" = this allows you to skip the graphics rendering to get you to the screen to load up options and video settings

if you're x3100 also enter this in the launch properties "-dxlevel 70" and "-window" is good too

so your line shows "-console -dxlevel 70 -window" and maybe some other things, feel free to copy paste it.

when you get into the game to go to options, turn SHADER details to LOW, and shadows to LOW and whatever else to maybe medium and turn OFF AA. After you apply those settings, quit out.