Hmm... f7 key???

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Drew017, Feb 13, 2012.

  1. Drew017, Feb 13, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2012

    Drew017 macrumors 65816

    Drew017

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    East coast, USA
    #1
    I have a G4 iBook, and I'm trying to make my f7 key invoke dashboard. However, it only works when the fn key is pressed with it. Supposedly, the f7 key by it's self toggles mirror and spanned displays. is there any way to just use the key like any normal function key? It's annoying to have to press two keys really far away from each other to do one function.
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    System Preferences>Keyboard & Mouse

    Check the box. This will reverse the behaviour. I.e., to raise the brightness, sound, etc you'll now have to press the FN key and the appropriate key.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Drew017 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Drew017

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    East coast, USA
    #3
    I see what you're saying, and I've tried that, but is there any way to turn off this screen spanning toggle?

    PS- how did you get that red circle around the check box?
     
  4. SuperJudge macrumors 6502

    SuperJudge

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    The Triangle, NC
    #4
    No way that I'm aware to turn off the Screen Spanning toggle.

    You get the red circles from inside of Preview. Tools -> Annotate -> Add oval
     
  5. Drew017 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Drew017

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    East coast, USA
    #5
    Oh
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    SuperJudge, thanks, I didn't know that! Makes it easier for the next time.

    The one I circled here I did in Photoshop.
     
  7. stroked Suspended

    stroked

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #7
    Go to system preference, keyboard and mouse, keyboard shortcuts, then scroll down to dashboard, double click on the shortcut, then change it to whatever you want.
     
  8. Drew017 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Drew017

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    East coast, USA
    #8
    Well, I currently have it as ⌘ F8, but I already use F8 for Spaces. I really want to use the F7 key, but it doesn't seem to work as a regular Fn Key.
     
  9. stroked Suspended

    stroked

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #9
    I have mine set to open dashboard, with option+z, that way, I can do the command with one finger.
     
  10. Drew017 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Drew017

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    East coast, USA
  11. stroked Suspended

    stroked

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #11
    Go to system preference, keyboard and mouse, keyboard shortcuts, then scroll down to dashboard, double click on the shortcut (all the way to the right), hit option z.
     
  12. Drew017 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Drew017

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    East coast, USA

Share This Page