hmm...leaving mbp on table

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Inspired, Mar 10, 2011.

1. Inspired macrumors regular

Inspired

So I had to help my college prof carry some stuff to his office. I forgot to put my mbp to sleep and I left it there for about 10minutes. Should I worry that anyone in my class might have installed a keylogger or anything? Sorry if this is a noob question, I'm just new to macs.

2. mulo macrumors 68020

mulo

there is this lovely option in keychain access preferences to show a menubar icon which allows you to lock your computer :)

3. eaf7s macrumors regular

You should probably burn the device, just to be safe. You can't be too careful in these situations. They are likely onto you.

4. NewToMac11 macrumors member

anything is possible. but i prob would not worry about it.

5. Inspired thread starter macrumors regular

Inspired

thanks, I will try that out next time

thanks for the sarcasm

Alright I'll try not to :)

6. NewToMac11 macrumors member

atleast i would hope people would have some respect not to touch someones elses property.

7. bperrella macrumors regular

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.2; en-us; Droid Build/FRG22D) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

Consider yourself lucky nobody stole it.. that's how my ipad got stolen

8. aarond12 macrumors 65816

aarond12

I don't even know of any keylogging applications for the Mac. You can use the Applications -> Utilities -> Activity Monitor to look for suspicious applications running on your Mac.

By the way, pressing your Power button brings up a menu, one of the options being Sleep. Just press S for Sleep. The other way is to press Option+Command+Eject.

9. NJuul macrumors 6502

In the future, you can set the screensaver to activate when you put your cursor into a "hot corner" (in expose preferences), and set your system to require your password when the screensaver has been activated.