Hold down 6 and 4?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jshelton, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. jshelton macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #1
    An employee at the Apple Store told me to hold down the 6 and 4 when I boot up with Snow Leopard. He said otherwise it would still be 32 bit.

    Is this true? Forgive my ignorance, but I know zero about bits and cores and all that.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Yes, if you want to run 64-bit kernel. Just let it boot normally, and you'll be fine.
     
  3. Some Guy 555 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #3
    By default Snow Leopard will boot with a 32 bit kernal, however that has no effect on running 64 bit applications.

    To boot into the 64 bit kernal hold down "6" and "4" keys at start up until you see the apple logo.

    You can permanently set Snow Leopard to boot into 64 bit if you want, however I really don't want to mention the method to do that, as it involves editing a system file and adding a string of text to tell it to go into 64 bit.

    If you do want to go that route just google it. Also if you ARE in the 64 bit kernal you can boot into 32 bit by holding down "3" and "2".
     
  4. jshelton thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
  5. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #5
    In that case, don't even worry about it! It's only for those people that truly need it.
     
  6. jshelton thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #6
    Will do :)
     
  7. ert3 macrumors 6502a

    ert3

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    #7
    I would love to try this to see if its true but to be honest those key strokes sound like a prank
     
  8. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    It's not a prank, 6 + 4 on boot starts a 64-bit kernel if the default is 32, 3 + 2 starts a 32-bit kernel if the default is 64.
     
  9. mperkins37 macrumors 6502a

    mperkins37

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    Does it matter which one you use?
    Does it have to be 6 4 on the ones above the alphabet, or can you use the num pad?
     
  10. SilentCrs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #10
    There's no point in booting the 64-bit kernel at this time. Very little programs would take advantage of it.
     
  11. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    Keep in mind when you boot up the 64bit kernel, it will not load any drivers that are only 32bit and some programs will not work with a 64bit kernel.

    There was a reason why apple didn't make it a default, and that's because not everyone is ready for full 64bit OSX yet
     
  12. Wie Gehts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    #12
    ..and when that time comes it will. so no worries i guess
     
  13. Bostonaholic macrumors 6502

    Bostonaholic

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #13
    I'm with you. I read the OP and immediately disregarded it as a joke. I can't believe this is how to boot into 64/32.
     
  14. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #14
    I boot mine holding down the 6 & 9 keys. Most pleasurable computing experience ever.
     

Share This Page