Holding keys doesn't work

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by geekygeek, Aug 12, 2011.

  1. geekygeek macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #1
    On my old account I was able to hold keys and let them repeat forever. On my new account I notice that nothing happens and if I hold a vowel the little symbols come on top of them. How can I restore this back to before? I tried tweaking the keyboard settings, but nothing.
     
  2. ideal.dreams macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #2
    Open Terminal (Applications > Utilities > Terminal) and run the following command:

    defaults write -g ApplePressAndHoldEnabled -bool false

    To enable it again change the ending "false" to "true"
     
  3. geekygeek thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #3
    Any other way to do it? Just wondering.
    edit: I just tried it, no luck
     
  4. GadgetGeek407 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    florida
    #4
    curious WHY did they disable stuff like this?
     
  5. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    iOS
     
  6. Lyndo99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #6
    may I ask why this is a useful feature for you guys? I personally don't think I have ever used it on previous computers and honestly i think it was smart for apple to disable it. It allows them to use the hold for accented characters/alternate characters feature, which IMHO is a much more useful feature.

    on the side: holding a letter down in these reply windows does in fact repeat forever for whatever reason lol
     
  7. ideal.dreams macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #7
    No, there is no system preference that will allow you to do that. This is the only way and I don't know why it's not working for you, I just tried it and it's working fine.
     
  8. geekygeek thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #8
    It worked with my first account and I didn't do anything. With my new account it just wouldn't work. I also noticed that some other settings got changed.
     
  9. geekygeek thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

Share This Page