Home Button Not Responsive

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Mindy60, Jul 2, 2012.

  1. Mindy60 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #1
    Hello folks,

    THE PROBLEM:
    I could be in an app and press the home button to go to home screen or another app and it won't respond. When I doubletap the home button it does not respond. Please note, if I am persistent it will do something.

    TROUBLESHOOTING:
    I reset everything and restored the last backup. After that I plugged my iPad to iTunes on my PC. The bar that says what is on the iPad was doing something weird. Everything was gone except for "other" being 9GB. So I sync'd it with my PC. But other stayed at 9G and only had 2G space left on a 32G iPad. (I went back and removed some music.) I don't remember what it was before but 9GB really seems high. Is this high? What's in there?

    I thought "other" was rather large and thought perhaps I messed up the restore so I did another reset this time as a new ipad and not a restore at all. Still "other" is large. And I still have intermittent problem with the home button not responding.

    KINDLE APP
    It seems like ever since I downloaded a kindle book (or one of 3 that I downloaded) I've had this problem. Could it have to do with the Kindle App? I'm thinking of deleting the app but haven't done so at this point. What do you think?

    Please advise as to what I can do about this. Thank you. And Thanks for listening.

    Mindy :)
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    What iPad is it? My iPad 1 sometimes needs more than one press of the home button. Although it is not app specific, I think if it would make you feel better to delete the Kindle app and see if the problem persists then you can. I just don't think it has anything to do with the app.
     
  3. Mindy60 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #3
    I have iPad 2 32GB 3G.

    When you look in iTunes on your computer, how big is your "other"? Mine is 9GB. Should that be about right?

    Thanks for your response.

    Mindy
     
  4. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #4
  5. Rodster macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #5
    Have you tried using the 'Assistive Touch' on screen HOME button?

    via Settings -> Accessibility ->
     
  6. Mindy60 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #6
    I guess then I have two issues: 1) home button issue, and 2) the size of "other" being 9GB. I looked at that site above and looked at the data each of my apps are using, and it is not as significant as 9GB so don't know what is going on.

    Thanks a bunch. :)

    ----------

    I have just tried it! Wonderful! Thank you. :)
     
  7. Mindy60 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #7
    These two issues are still unresolved. There is a workaround for the home button issue (accessability, etc.). But nothing has been resolved. Anybody?

    TY,
    Mindy
     
  8. ixodes macrumors 601

    ixodes

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Coast, USA
    #8
    This is the same type of home button problem that crops on iPhones. It's one of the weaknesses of an old school mechanical button. Eventually they stop working and then you get a replacement if you're still in warranty, or you get to spend your own money if your not.

    I had one replaced by Apple, and one that I had to buy. Oh well, Apple needs the money :)
     
  9. Kurwenal macrumors 6502a

    Kurwenal

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    #9
    Get a can of compressed air and carefully clean around the home button while holding the iPad upside down. I had the same problem on my iPad3 and that fixed it.
     
  10. Mindy60 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #10
    Thank you for that. :)
     
  11. taipan61 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Location:
    corner starbucks
    #11
    if i'm reading this correctly you did a restore from a backup, then you did a restore from the ipad (set up as new), have you tried a restore from itunes then set up as new?
    i had this issue on my ipad2 went through basically the same steps as you did then restored from itunes as new and it took care of it. then i just redownloaded the stuff i really wanted from my account

    Kurwenal, thanks for air tip, tried it and it works wonders for a little wonky home button
     
  12. Mindy60 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #12
    Yes I did actually! The problem appears to be resolved. I set up as new but not going to restore data cuz I do not want to run into the problem of corrupt data files. Stuff like Purchased and kindle books I am downloading. I will eventually sync more from my PC as soon as I am sure the problem is indeed fixed. Just testing at this point.

    Cheers,
    Mindy
     

Share This Page