Home Media Hub Set up

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by fullerboy, Mar 3, 2008.

1. fullerboy macrumors newbie

Hi,

I am looking for some advice on how I can set up my a media system at home. Here are my requirements:

I want to have a hard drive (possibly Time capsule??) that contains all of my music, pictures and Ripped DVD’s (Thank you handbrake!). I then want to be able to sync this with my Apple TV so that I can play all of my music and DVD’s on my HDTV. Finally I want to be able to access and control all of the these systems with my MacBook, which will be set to keep only my favourite play lists, and certain music and pictures from the last 12 months. (So if I take my laptop away I will only be interested in these pictures!)

I am wary of filling my Macbook up with tonnes of stuff that I want to keep but do not need on an everyday basis, hence why I want to set up thus type of system

Any ideas, concepts are welcome, as I am new to all of this!

Thanks for you’re your help.

2. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

neiltc13

As far as I am aware, Time Capsule can only be used with Time Machine as a backup device. It isn't well suited to retrieving files regularly as it controls all of the backups itself.

For what you would like to do, I think the only option is to store the content on your MacBook.

3. canoejohn macrumors newbie

There seems to be some uncertainty as to whether Time Capsule can be reformatted to act as a simple network hard drive but a better option would be to simply use a stand alone USB hard drive connected to an Airport Extreme base station.

There is absolutely no need to carry around all your files on your Macbook! Only problem I can see is that you will need to plug your Macbook in to the network in order to stream to your Apple TV (at least without third party software). Anyone else got a better solution as I am trying to get a better setup myself?

4. albusseverus macrumors 6502a

albusseverus

in a word MacMini