Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MortyUA

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 3, 2012
Dear all,

I'm a longtime Windows user, who is transitioning from a all-Windows to pure Apple setup. And I'm an Apple newbie (virgin?). :) ;)

I currently have a Windows HTPC which also does basic file and printer sharing, and a stationary PC, and a laptop.

Reading Apple forums, I see frequent mentioning of not getting a NAS for home storage, and instead getting a Mac Mini with the OSX Server app. I a 'techie' home network with 2-3 computers, what are the use cases where Mac Mini + OSX Server are better than a NAS -- what is it used for?

I understand that Time Machine backups to 3rd party NAS can be a bit unreliable when new releases of OSX/Time Machine are made. So that's one fair use case for OSX Server. Which other ones are there?

If you were starting from scratch now, and planned to have a desktop + ipad + iphone, would you get a NAS or Mac Mini for file storage? Why? I don't have unlimited funds, but I will pay for quality and longevity.

Thanks! :) :apple:

Last edited:
Reactions: jagooch

Fabian90

macrumors regular
Feb 19, 2013
Bonn, Germany
Well I use an old Mac Mini as server (early 2009). It runs Time Machine, a caching server for updates, a file server and hosts my iTunes library.

I think that, except the caching function, you can do everything of that on a NAS, too. But for me, "it just works". It is really easy with OS X Server and I had the Mini anyway. On the newer ones you can expand the storage via Thunderbolt, also really cool. And you can access it remotely via Back to My Mac.

It's really not thaaat much different but it requires only a bit of power and I think it's easier to setupl

Reactions: Pow! and MortyUA

theluggage

macrumors 604
Jul 29, 2011
what are the use cases where Mac Mini + OSX Server are better than a NAS -- what is it used for?