Home row keys (a to l) are not working

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by ejdusf, Sep 6, 2010.

  1. ejdusf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #1
    MacBook Air Keyboard problems

    Yesterday, without spilling anything on it, the left click on my trackpad (and on my wireless mouse) stopped functioning(MacBook Air/OSX 10.6.4/1.6 GhZ) After one hour it started working again. At first, I thought it must be related to settings that i had messed up in the meantime (Universal access, mouse keys etc).However it turned out not to be the case. I tried virus scan, PRAM reset, but it didn't help. Today i took it to the Apple store, they proposed to replace the keyboard. Since I am out of warranty I don't want to pay 200 euros if the problem can be solved without the replacement of the keyboard. Any ideas?

    Thank you all in advance!

    Filip
     
  2. lucifiel macrumors 6502a

    lucifiel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    In your basement
    #2
    You could try to open your MBA up to see if there are any loose connections?

    Or you could try to reinstall your OS again to see if it's a software issue. Thought it appears to be hardware related, but you can only confirm that if you open up the MBA...
     
  3. ejdusf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #3
    Thanks. The new OS didn't help so I replaced the top case.
     
  4. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #4
    You already replaced the top case? How much did it cost? Wow... did it fix the problem?
     
  5. ejdusf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #5
    It costed 200 euros. Its painful but I had no other choice. Now it feels like a completely new computer.
     
  6. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #6
    OUCH. At least it fixed the problem... did you consider doing it yourself? Don't get me wrong, it wouldn't have been fun. The MBA is not a "fun" computer to take apart anyways.

    Congrats on making it feel "new" again. Enjoy!
     
  7. ejdusf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #7
    True, it would save me some money. I didn't want to take any risks though since I have read that replacing the top case on MBA is quite complex.
     

Share This Page