homefront

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by pribl, Apr 9, 2011.

  1. pribl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #1
    how fast will be working homefront at my macbook ?
    os - bootcamp + windows 7 - 64 bit
    2.2GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7
    8GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB
    750GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm
    SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
     
  2. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #2
    What graphics card?

    If you have the high one it will probably work, plus IIRC it's a DX11 card so the game will look great with DX11 enabled.

    I love Homefront, and play it on my hand built PC. I average about 70 FPS at 1920x1200 all max settings + DX11. It is very smooth and looks incredible. I have a big GTX 580 though, so YMMV.
     
  3. pribl thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #3
    I have even 2 graphics cards:

    Intel HD Graphics 3000
    +
    AMD Radeon HD 6750M with 1GB GDDR5
     
  4. Hansr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #4
    Plays fine on same spec machine for me on native res + medium to high settings. It's a dreadful game though, don't buy it. Single player is less than 4 hours.
     
  5. MurrayRL macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    #5
    Multiplayer

    While the singleplayer game is pretty short (but great) the multiplayer game is a blast!
     
  6. pribl, Apr 12, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2011

    pribl thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    #6
    in single player my game crash every time I need to trow a granade !

    :(
     
  7. NZed macrumors 65816

    NZed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Canada, Eh?
    #7
    You have 2 GPU. Correct.

    Is it both used at the same time? No.

    When you're on heavy duty, it switches to the 6750M.
    When you're just surfing the web(although many web browsers today tend to use the higher GPU than the integrated) viewing some files or documents, its on the HD3000.
     
  8. MyDesktopBroke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #8
    Doesn't Windows only use the more powerful card? Or did they enable switching with the new GPUs?
     
  9. NZed macrumors 65816

    NZed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Canada, Eh?
    #9
    In Boot Camp, I'm not sure.

    But in OSX, they enabled switching. But there are softwares that let you choose which GPU you want it on all the time.
     
  10. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #10
    You != everyone else.


    Singleplayer is short (and annoying at times), but the multiplayer is fantastic. The maps are great, the weapons are well balanced, and the Battle Commander mode is tons of fun.
     

Share This Page