Home Homekit enable plug in the UK

Discussion in 'HomeKit, HomePod, CarPlay, Home & Auto Technology' started by thedon1, Nov 2, 2015.

  1. thedon1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #1
    Are there any Homekit enabled plugs available in the UK?

    We have the Belkin Wemo but they aren't ready for Homekit yet.
     
  2. Recognition macrumors 6502

    Recognition

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #2
    I have WeMo switches and got tired of waiting for Belkin to sort out HomeKit for them so found Homebridge on GitHub which allows you to run your own HomeKit server (you'll need and 'always online' computer at home) to control the WeMo switches.
    I've been using it for a few weeks now for my WeMo switches and Nest thermostat and it works well with my iPhone and Apple Watch.
    Have a read here,
    https://github.com/nfarina/homebridge
     
  3. danwestbrook macrumors regular

    danwestbrook

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #3
    Also using WeMo with the Homebridge application mentioned above.
     
  4. m11rphy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #4
    Can you provide more details please
     
  5. Recognition macrumors 6502

    Recognition

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #5
    I got a Raspberry Pi at Christmas and have now set it up to control those cheap RF 433mhz sockets using some even cheaper 433mhz Receiver/transmitters from eBay!
    Took a little researching but it works well and integrates with Homebridge and therefore Siri too!
    The range is pretty good, with the Rpi central in my house it reaches around 2 rooms away in all directions.
    Only downside is the range and you don't get any feedback of the state of the socket (the sockets only receive) just the last state you put it in. Other than that they're great!
     
  6. danwestbrook macrumors regular

    danwestbrook

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #6
    Sure it's basicly installing a small program that acts as a homekit bridge and it controls the wemo switches, I've installed mine on my mac mini but homebridge runs on raspberry pi etc. If you want the commands how to install it or a copy of my config file just let me know as it took a little while to get that part working.
     
  7. m11rphy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #7
    that would be great if you could share that, i want to install on my iMac
     
  8. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #8
    +1, I had a quick look but couldn't quite figure it out.
     
  9. brianbunge macrumors 6502

    brianbunge

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #9
    I'd appreciate this as well! I've got 11 Hue white bulbs, two Blooms, and a Hue light switch along with two WeMo light switches and and a Nest thermostat. If I could figure out how to install Homebridge and the plug-ins on my Mac mini it sure would save me a lot of money switching out the WeMos and Nest for other switches and an Ecobee 3.
     
  10. Recognition macrumors 6502

    Recognition

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #10
    Do you use a script to restart Homebridge if it crashes? I've been trying to get 'Forever' working but with no luck yet.
     
  11. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #11
    Complete programming n00b here and I managed to figure it out with a bit of fiddling. I'll post instructions later.
     
  12. danwestbrook macrumors regular

    danwestbrook

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #12
    Hopefully this helps, any questions just let me know.



    1) install xcode command line tools - takes a few minutes depending on your connection speed.
    Open the terminal (CMD + Spacebar and type: terminal - press enter to open. Type: xcode-select --install

    2) Type: ruby -e "$(curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install)"

    3) Type: brew install node

    4) Type: sudo npm install -g homebridge

    5) Type: sudo npm install -g homebridge-wemo

    6) Type: hombridge (this will fail as you have no config file)

    7) cd ~/.homebridge

    8) touch config.json (to create the file)

    9) create your config file, I will try to upload mine for reference, I only have 2 wemo's but it should help.
    Note as per the homebridge site dont use notepad or text edit, I used vi from the terminal but something such as textwrangler should be fine.

    Once you have setup the config.json file you just type homebridge to run the application. I will write up some more notes
    on adding it to homekit shortly.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 16, 2016 ---
    Please see post 12, any questions just let me know.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 16, 2016 ---
    I don't as I haven't had too many problems with it so far... I also use IFTTT as a backup and have a DO button added as a widget takes up to 5 seconds to work but it great for when Siri is playing up.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 16, 2016 ---
    I had to change it to a txt file to upload, you need to make sure the "name" and "wemo name" match the name of the plug in the Wemo app for it to find it.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #13
    Quick note: you'll need an app to set up the HomeKit stuff. The homebridge developer recommends MyTouchHome, but I found that Eve by Elgato was much better, and free.
     
  14. danwestbrook macrumors regular

    danwestbrook

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #14
    Also used Eve by Elgato really good app. I've since brought the £10 Home app for the widgets as I prefer using the widgets over Siri.
     
  15. brianbunge macrumors 6502

    brianbunge

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #15
    Thanks for this! It'll be Saturday before I can try this but I do have one question: In your example config file I would just change the name and description of my WeMo light switches to match the names I'm using in the WeMo app?
     
  16. m11rphy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #16
    Do I need to download anything first ? Can you expand on what yo been by touch in step 8
     
  17. danwestbrook macrumors regular

    danwestbrook

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #17
    Yes that's what I did
    --- Post Merged, Feb 17, 2016 ---
    No you don't need to do anything in advance other then follow the steps, maybe as a caution create a time machine backup.

    The "touch" command is just a way of creating the config.json from the terminal, as you have to manually create the file for homebridge to work. so just to confirm you will need to type: touch config.json
     
  18. MrBTec macrumors newbie

    MrBTec

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #18
    Maybe a bit late to the party guys but could the new Hive plugs be any use here?

    Seem to play nice with Homekit.
     
  19. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #19
    Are they new? Can't believe I'd missed them so far...
     
  20. MrBTec macrumors newbie

    MrBTec

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #20
    Got an email this week from them as I have the Thermo and Heating Control. Think they need they Hive Hub though :(
     
  21. brianbunge macrumors 6502

    brianbunge

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #21
    OK, there's also more we need to do to get this working with HomeKit, right?
     
  22. NOITAIDAR macrumors member

    NOITAIDAR

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #22
    LightwaveRF are planning to release a HomeKit capable Bridge later this year, but currently, I have LWRF equipment working with HomeKit through a Homebridge implementation on my Mac. Was very easy to install!
     
  23. danwestbrook macrumors regular

    danwestbrook

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #23
    I have now managed to get it to restart when it crashes, let me know if you need the details and I can post it.
     
  24. Brian Y macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #24
    I don't see why home kit is such a big deal. It's so easy to get this stuff working how you want (I spent an hour on a small PHP script for my LightwaveRF kit and it's great). Adding more bridges, etc, is just more stuff to go wrong IMO.
     
  25. NOITAIDAR macrumors member

    NOITAIDAR

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #25
    it's about unified platform control.

    sure you could have "Works with Nest" using Siri (eventually) and LWRF through their app (ignoring homebridge for now)

    but you shouldn't have to use a different app for different devices. that's the point of HomeKit. Unity!
     

Share This Page