HomeKit HomeKit Outlet

Discussion in 'HomeKit, HomePod, CarPlay, Home & Auto Technology' started by mtngoatjoe, May 6, 2019.

  1. mtngoatjoe macrumors regular

    mtngoatjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #1
    I need to get an outlet to control a lava lamp. I'm very new to HomeKit and don't know what are the better options. I'd prefer an in-wall device, but an external type could work.


    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Nigel Goodman macrumors member

    Nigel Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    I use both the Eve and Tradfri (Ikea) outlets. The Tradfri requires a bridge (sometime called a hub) (which is probably only worth it if you are planning to get more Tradfri devices). The Eve doesn't need a bridge.

    Both are working faultlessly for me with the latest updates. Previously Tradfri devices were quite problematic and hard to set up. This has much improved. The bridge also used to lose connection to the HomeKit hub. Again this is no longer a problem.

    The Eve, as it does not have a hub, is slower than the Tradfri - maybe a second or two later. But this has never caused me any difficulty.
     
  3. MistrSynistr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    #3
    I have Sylvania's bluetooth one, no hub required, works perfect. Cheap.
     
  4. YatBob macrumors regular

    YatBob

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #4
    Thats the ones I use
     
  5. nutmac macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #5
    WeMo Mini is widely recommended. I purchased the two pack when Costco had it on sale last year and it has been very reliable. My only quibbles are (1) the app stinks (thankfully, I only use it to set up and to update firmware), (2) it makes a click sound when it turns on, and (3) lack of "restore power" default setting (when power comes back after outage).
     
  6. mtngoatjoe thread starter macrumors regular

    mtngoatjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #6
    The WeMo available on Costco.com doesn't say it is HomeKit compatible. It makes me nervous, but I suspect the software has since been updated to provide HomeKit compatibility. I think I'll give these a try. Thanks!
     
  7. nutmac macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #7
    Immediately after setting up WeMo via app, their firmware will be updated with HomeKit support.

    I read that the version you buy from the store is already updated and comes with HomeKit pairing code within the packaging.

    Costco version does not have printed pairing code but they are functionally identical otherwise.
     
  8. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #8
    I have an iHome ISP6 (or something like that), its been fine. I rarely use it anymore after automating everything else.
     

Share This Page

7 May 6, 2019