HomeKit HomeKit Sensor Notifications

Discussion in 'HomeKit, HomePod, CarPlay, Home & Auto Technology' started by Itinj24, Apr 13, 2019.

  1. Itinj24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I have two Hue Motion sensors in a staircase that trigger the staircase light when Motion is sensed and four people assigned to my home with all permissions. Using an Apple TV as a hub. Under notifications for these sensors, I have it set to only notify me if nobody is home. I still get notifications for these sensors when at least one of the Home members is Home. Location sharing is turned on, on their phones. Getting annoying. Even notifies me if I am home at times. Anyone have any idea? Am I missing something?
     
  2. andylel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    #2
    Just been struggling with this today and seem to have fixed it. Switched of notifications from the sensor, killed the home app, restarted phone, reenabled notifications. Seems to work OK now and has done for about 30 mins.
     
  3. StumpyBloke macrumors 6502a

    StumpyBloke

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Yes, I’ve had the problem for awhile. It’s very random. And seems to sort itself out when I restart which of the home hub is active i.e. Apple TV or HomePod.

    I guarantee you will get the problem again sooner or later.
     
  4. Itinj24 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    Ok, so it’s not just me. Thanks for the heads up. I’ll try restarting my hub for kicks and giggles. It’s driving me nuts. Only issue I’m having with HomeKit at the moment
     
  5. marklemac macrumors regular

    marklemac

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Southampton, UK.
    #5
    feel your pain, I have 4 cams, and get constant notifications when I'm at home most of the time.

    All homekit needs is the ability to tell it what your home wifi network is and not to bother you when you're actually connected to it, not just relying on gps.

    when I get problems, I open up the maps app and the gps dot is moving around and most of time isn't actually above my house, it's on the street or in the neighbours house, lol
     
  6. StumpyBloke macrumors 6502a

    StumpyBloke

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #6
    I’ve just woken up to this problem again. I put my phone in to Airplane mode and back again (no difference). Restarted Apple TV (the current home hub) (no difference). Finally, restarted my xs max running latest beta and the alerts have gone. It’s a real pain.
     
  7. StumpyBloke macrumors 6502a

    StumpyBloke

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #7
    I’ve now had incorrect alerts twice within 12 hours and I’ve had to restart my phone each time (today). This is on the very latest beta. The first occasion I haven’t even left the house. The second occasion I just got back in and they started. It’s never been this bad ever. I’ve reported it.
     
  8. StumpyBloke macrumors 6502a

    StumpyBloke

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #8
    I don’t know if any of this is server side connected but I’m getting nothing but alerts all day now. Regardless of which equipment I restart they will eventually come back within an hour or so. It’s really getting on my tits! I’ve had to turn off all notifications now!
     
  9. marklemac macrumors regular

    marklemac

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Southampton, UK.
    #9
    Getting worse for me, I've just submitted feedback via the feedback app. 12.4 beta hasn't sorted the sensor notifications.
     
  10. StumpyBloke macrumors 6502a

    StumpyBloke

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #10
    I don’t know why mine were so bad last time but I turned them all off for a while and they’re back on now and, so far at least, working as they should. These things have never been anything more than slightly reliable in my experience. It’s a shame.
     
  11. marklemac macrumors regular

    marklemac

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Southampton, UK.
    #11
    Well over the last few days I've not had any false notifications, maybe beta 2 has sorted this out. ?
     
  12. Itinj24 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Location:
    New York
    #12
    Same here but I’m not running the beta. However, now my automations are not firing consistently
     
  13. Itinj24 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Location:
    New York
    #13
    BLUF: Make sure “Share My Location (from this device)” and location services for the Home app are turned on for all of your Home app users.

    Ok so I think I discovered the issue and it seems to be working now after correcting it.

    I was using mainly the “people” parameter for my notifications, e.g. notify me when there is Motion in my garage when nobody is home (have all my sensor notifications set up that way for the case of home intrusions otherwise it’s annoying).

    I have a nanny that comes 6/7 days of the week. She is labeled as a user in my Homekit app and I made a few automations to fire when she leaves and arrives at my house, other than the sensor notifications for when “nobody is home.”

    The automations never worked properly for her and neither did the sensor notifications, but they did work for other users of my home (my wife and I).

    I checked the privacy settings on her iPhone (with her approval of course) and it seemed like it was fine. Settings>Privacy>Location Services>Home>While Using the App (App explanation: “Home uses your location to let you set up accessory automations like turning off the lights when you leave your house.”

    Still didn’t work and it was driving me crazy and I must’ve checked her phone a dozen more times to see if this was still enabled. It was for my wife.

    However, I checked one more time today and noticed that after clicking on Location Services, there is another option that says “Share My Location”. I always thought this was just for “Find My Friends” which I use with my wife. But if you click on it, the caption also says “... and use automations in the Home App.” This was checked on “iPhone” and not “From this Device.” Didn’t know that was used for HomeKit also.

    So apparently, it was still trying to use “Share My Location” from her old iPhone and hence why none of the automations and notifications were working properly. HomeKit geofence wasn’t able to “see” her correct location at my house.

    Basically, if the notifications and automations aren’t working properly, check the privacy, Home app and share my location settings for all users of your Home and make sure they’re set accordingly. Working the way it should now... so far (knocks on wood)
     

Share This Page

12 April 13, 2019