Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Blkant

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 27, 2012
I started playing with my HomePod as a TV speaker through the new Apple TV eARC setup and have been finding myself deeply regretting not buying a second HomePod for stereo support. So much so I have begun to look around for a second Space Grey HomePod, though this has been difficult given it seems to have completely evaporated after only two months since it's discontinuation.

For those that have been following the HomePod since discontinuation, are additional stocks periodically arriving at stores still or is this likely the last opportunity to buy one (though I'd have to settle with a non-matching white)?

Or at this point would it be best to get a used one for less (though still white...) in the hopes of a HomePod 2/Pro?

I have been having difficulty coming to a decision so anyones general thoughts are welcome.

Reactions: 1961templar

haralds

macrumors 68030
Jan 3, 2014
Silicon Valley, CA
They are not making new ones. If you find one, grab it. It looks like Apple's supplies of white ones are also dwindling. I nabbed one to complete my second set. I have stereo pairs of space gray and white. Also a stereo pair of space white mini and a gray singleton.
I am still using the Apple HiFi I bought in 2006 with a Classic iPod. That one also sounds very nice.
My living room has a high-end preamp/DAC from Peachtree and Event Opal monitors. They cost A LOT more and sound awesome, but the Apple Pods hold their own and are fun for more casual listening not demanding attention.

Itinj24

Contributor
Nov 8, 2017
New York