Hooking a MacBook Pro to TV, is it possible?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ghall, Jul 7, 2007.

  1. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #1
    I apologize if this has been discussed already.

    So, I had a great idea the other day when looking at the Leopard version of Front Row. I was thinking "wow, I could save $300 on an AppleTV if I just use my laptop!" So I was wondering if there is some way to hook up a MacBook Pro to a TV for video output. My TV uses the plug with the red, yellow, and white prongs.
     
  2. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #3
  3. RichL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    Well, that is the adapter and it where the computer hardware stops. From there I think you'd look more in a television section for a connecting cable. I'm not fluent in the TV world so someone else may be able to tell you what cable to buy.

    Plus, if you call a BestBuy I'm positive they could assist you with cable selection.

    Good luck!
     
  4. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    you just need a standard RCA or composit cable
     
  5. candan9019 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario-> Louisiana-> Colorado-> Ontario
    #6
    That adapter has composite and s-video. The video is yellow, red and white are audio so this adapter is for the yellow or video wire. You can get an adapter to connect the audio jack on your MBP to the red and white audio connectors on your tv.
     
  6. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #7
    So something like this for the video?
     
  7. Jestered macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #9
    You could connect the computer to that tv. If $300 is something you could spare, I would highly suggest just getting the Apple TV. It does much more than FrontRow and is much more convenient that connecting the computer to the tv.

    I got the cables to connect my PB to my LCD TV and hooked it up once. I connected it when I got the cables and then never again. I use my Apple TV all the time though.
     
  8. MAW macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #10
  9. Jestered macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #11
    DVI does not carry the audio.
     
  10. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #12
    Nope. I'm actually going to hook the audio up to my stereo so I can get the full stereo sound (my TV is mono :( ).

    Thanks for the link, but I think I have one...somewhere. :D
     
  11. IntenseKipp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #13
  12. caffeeneaddict macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #14
    hope that helps IntenseKipp:D
     
  13. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #15
    Yep it does. I think I'm pretty much set. Thanks for the help.
     
  14. seany916 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    Southern California
  15. IntenseKipp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #17
    Thats fine. When I have small parties at my house I will hook my MB PRO up to my entertainment system using the aux of my reciever. I use the remote to control iTunes but it would be awesome to have the front view picture coming from the my flat screen tv.

    How long is this cable?? Anyone know?
    http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore?productLearnMore=M9267G/A
     
  16. Linkjeniero macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    #18
    Very short, just as shown in the picture (10 cms or so). Plus, it's a female video connector, so you need a male-male extension (you can get it cheap almost anywhere... around here it's 2 o 3 bucks).

    But, if you have a flat panel TV with HDMI, I suggest getting a DVI-HDMI cable instead... you'll get a much nicer picture for a similar price (and if your TV happens to have a DVI connector, then it's a no brainer... just use it).
     
  17. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #19
    Using the A/V input on your TV will give you great picture quality if you are using a CRT, since CRT's display anything in adequate detail at any resolution.

    As mentioned, if you have a flat panel TV and it has a VGA/DVI input (most older models did) or if you have one that has an HDMI connection (within the past year it became a standard) then you'd get the best quality doing it that way.
     
  18. keenkreations macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    #20
    Also yuo could use the S-Video out. From what I remember, from lowest to best quality: Composite video -> S-Video -> DVI/HDMI. HDMI is like DVI, but also carries audio signals.

    Keep in mind also that some older televisions support significantly lower resolutions than computer screens (640x480 or 800x600), especially with Composite and S-Video input. I don't think that is a problem anymore with Hi-Def screens (using DVI or HDMI).

    Again, my .02 cents
     
  19. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #21
    Apple TV Is NOt For Him

    He's got an old analog TV - nothing :apple:TV hooks to at all. He would need to spend $500+ for a 720P HDTV before he's ready to use his DVI to HDMI from his MBP like the :apple:TV box does and only does.
     

Share This Page