Hooking a Wii up to an Imac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Webbomation, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. Webbomation macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #1
    Hi! I got an iMac last August. Its specs are Mac OS X Version 10.5.5, Processor 2.4CHz Core 2 Duo, Memory 1GB blah blah blah pretty standard right from the Mac Store in Chicago. lol

    I heard u can actually put more memory in the mac, I even saw some kid do it on youtube. I think he upped it to 4 Gigs of memory. I am planning on doing that---- but my question is: is it possible to somehow hook up a video game system like a Wii to the Imac? I am thinking about starting to do Dance Dance Revolution as an exercise routine and this nice big Imac screen kicks my TVs ASS so I figured perhaps it is possible.

    With love, peaches, and cream
    --Kendra! :apple:
     
  2. Sorkvild macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #2
    Unfortunately no, the iMac has no video input ports. It's technically possible if you buy an Elgato Eye TV for a few hundred dollars, but you're better off playing it on your TV because the Wii does not output HD. It would actually more than likely look really bad on your iMac because the image would be blown up and pixelated, not to mention the little bit of lag the TV tuner has to do to encode the video.
     
  3. Webbomation thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
  4. sk8mash macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Actually I wouldn't recommend that at all, and you would probably end up not being able to play it. I bought one hoping to use my xBox 360, but games run at 60Hz whereas the Hybrid only supports 50Hz, rendering it pretty much useless for games. I would however recommend it for TV use as it really makes the most of your big iMac screen.
     
  5. mastershakess macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Bel Air, MD
    #6
    20" iMac screen is better than your TV? thats a shame :(
     
  6. sk8mash macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Who mentioned a 20"?
     
  7. poxonyou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    #8
    Are you using Pal 60? I haven't heard of anyone having significant problems with the EyeTV. Watched a few YouTube videos of such setups and it seemed fine, and those authoring the videos had no complaints.

    http://support.elgato.com/index.php...063&nav=0,1&languageid=1&group=englishdefault
     
  8. sk8mash macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #9
    "Some Games published on Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 and Wii Virtual Console might not work on the Hybrid. That's usually only true if the games use PAL 60Hz. PAL 60Hz input is not supported by EyeTV at this time."

    You will find most games, at least on the 360, are Pal 60 only.
     
  9. poxonyou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    #10
    Do you live in Europe or Australia?
    The original author lives in the US, which uses NTSC.
     
  10. sk8mash macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #11
    Oh, sorry i'm in the UK...it might be different for the US
     

Share This Page