Hooking up Air to an analog TV

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by hachre, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #1
    How do I do it? There don't seem to be any adapters to convert Mini Displayport to something like Composite.

    They used to have them for DVI-I and some other ports but none for VGA either.

    The current Mini Displayport to DVI adapter is DVI-D so it won't work with 2 adapters in a row either.

    How do I do this???
     
  2. godslabrat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    #2
    Way more trouble than it will likely be worth

    Since we're talking about a composite connection on an analog TV, HD goes right out the window. You'd need the DVI adaptor for the displayport, then another converter to downsample the video to 480i/p. Then you pick what chunk of the screen you want to show.

    I have no idea why you're doing this, but I'm very confident there's a simpler and more cost-effective method than trying to shoehorn a >1080p signal into an SDTV.
     
  3. hachre thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #3
    Yea the only alternative is buying a new TV :) The TV is still analog, that's why... I expected it to be quite simple, like a VGA to composite converter or something and then I set the resolution on my Mac to the usual PAL or NTSC resolution and done... But if it is a huge problem, it would probably be better to replace the TV eventually...
     
  4. Moodikar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    You can buy a box called a scanline converter. It isn't worth it but the box converts a 15 pin VGA video signal to composite (RCA) connector.

    So, from your MBA, you'd have to buy a mini display port to VGA adapter and then the box. Then connect a yellow RCA cable to the box and tv and you'll have video on an old analog tv.

    It truly isn't worth it and you are better to buy a crappy digital tv for the same cost as a scanline converter box.
     
  5. hachre thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #5
    Ok guys, thanks :) I somehow was under the impression that a VGA signal would be converted to something I can plug in there with some adapters and no need for special hardware... I will probably go with the new TV then ;)
     

Share This Page