Hooking up Logitech X-540 to a mac pro.

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by johndatserakis, Sep 7, 2009.

  1. johndatserakis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys, I have a question that might seem pretty dumb, but what should be happening seems like it isn't.

    I have X-540 speakers that were hooked up to my previous desktop pc and they worked great. I didn't have them set up as 5.1 but they still sounded awesome with matrix mode turned on. I just bought a mac pro and when I plug the single green audio cord into the back of the mac pro where the audio symbol is nothing happens. In the sound settings it doesn't say anything about the speakers either. (I tried it in the input next to it and it didn't work either.)

    Believe it or not I looked all over the internet and didn't find a solution, it just seems like a little setting I must be missing. Anyone have any ideas?

    (2008 mac pro)
     
  2. daze macrumors 6502

    daze

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    #2
    What does your "Output" tab show in the Sound system preferences?
     
  3. johndatserakis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    #3
    I'm so sorry I didn't reply earlier! I haven't had the mac hooked up because I'm still waiting for a project to finish that was started on the pc.

    When the X540 is plugged in and turned on, the output tab in sound doesn't show any change, it still says:

    Internal Speakers - Built-in Output
    Line Out - Built-in Line output
    Digital Out - Built-in Digital output

    and nothing else. Should OSX just recognize the device?
     
  4. johndatserakis thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    #4
    wow I'm really bad at this mac stuff, and I thought I was tech savvy! :eek:

    I'm still not exactly sure what happened, but after plugging it a few times it started working out of no where! I had been fooling around with the audio output tab though so I could have triggered something.
     
  5. daze macrumors 6502

    daze

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    #5
    If your speakers are connected via an analog cable (the green one, for example), then most likely you selected Line Out in your Output tab. Check to see what it is now, and you'll know for sure since it is working for you.
     

Share This Page