Hooking up Macbook Pro to KDL 32EX403 - can't get sound using correct cables

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PeteJames, Jun 13, 2011.

  1. PeteJames macrumors regular

    PeteJames

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #1
    I know when you hook up my pre 2010 macbook pro I need a mini displayport to hdmi or dvi for the picture. I also found out I needed a 3.5mm jack to stereo phono for the sound. I've tried both 3.5 to 3.5 from my mbp headphone port into the tv audio in, and 3.5mm jack from my mbp headphone port to all the different av inputs available and I can't get any sound to go from my mac through the tv.

    What do i need to do?

    Also should I buy minidisplay port to hdmi or dvi or doesn't it matter?

    Thanks
     
  2. Heavertron macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    The headphone port should just work. Are you sure the phono inputs on your TV are enabled, and you are set to the correct input? Typically a TV will set to HDMI audio when an HDMI video input is used.
     
  3. PeteJames thread starter macrumors regular

    PeteJames

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #3
    I haven't got the cable for the visual side of things yet I just wanted to test the audio side to confirm it worked. The sony tv does seem to automatically disable ports not in use so maybe thats the reason for the audio not working. I was wondering if i makes a difference if the audio is say on av1 and the picture is going into say hdmi 1. Or will the audio accompany the picture whichever whichever channel the video is on? How does it work?
    Thanks
     
  4. pauldp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    I have a KDL 32XBR9 so it is similar to yours, and a 2010 MBP. When I plug in through HDMI I normally have to change the output device on my mac to output to the TV. Option click the speaker in the menubar to easily do it.
     
  5. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #5
    Generally if you are using HDMI, all other audio ports will be disabled (it is part of the newer standards of HDMI licensing that doesn't want for people to break out the pure digital signals and copy them, I had to roll back the firmware on my Anthem processor to regain the ability to designate a different audio and video signal path, for those wondering why?? I wanted to be able to listen to streaming audio while the kids played the Wii, hate its generic midi soundtracks). Most basic and standard source switchers won't allow for breakout of audio and video designations, those functions are generally added as the price point increases.
     
  6. PeteJames, Jun 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2011

    PeteJames thread starter macrumors regular

    PeteJames

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #6
    That's a joke if its true. So I just got my mini displayport to hdmi. I'm using hdmi input 4 - and audio from minijack to minijack / minijack to stereo in - still can't get any audio

    The thing is the audio doesn't work when the HDMI isn't connected either so it probably isn't because of that.

    Turns out that I can get audio on the pc input channel but that's not much good as I have the video output on hdmi. So I can either choose between audio or video!! Awful. Any workarounds or do I have to find a cable that will work with the pc input to get both? Will that lower the quality of picture?
     
  7. HunterMaximus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    #7
    It varies by TV, but many TVs will have a specific HDMI input associated with an analog audio input. It's often labelled as HDMI/DVI. You may also need to change a menu setting - usually something like audio in [Digital or Analog].

    Best advice is to look through your TV's manual (if you don't have the hard copy any more, you can almost always find it online with the model number). Most newer ones seem to have diagrams for setting up this exact scenario.
     

Share This Page