iPhone Hope to see data toggle for the panel

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by NickyLanzz, Jul 4, 2013.

  1. NickyLanzz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Location:
    East Coast
    #1
    I do not now if people made posts about this yet but what I would like to see for iPhone users in the final version is a data toggle button in the control panel or whatever you would call it. I always turn off my data once I have access to wifi and it would be helpful.
     
  2. jcdm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #2
    +1
     
  3. macsrcool1234 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    #3
    Doesn't the phone already use Wifi once you connect?
     
  4. NickyLanzz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Location:
    East Coast
    #4
    Yes, but I still prefer to turn it off once I'm on a network
     
  5. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #5


    even when on wifi, the iOS keeps all push connections alive through the mobile network..
     
  6. Appel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #6
    Data on and off and 3G on off is a must for io 7
     
  7. SpyderBite macrumors 65816

    SpyderBite

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Location:
    Xanadu
    #7
    You're talking about kb's of data.. Not megabytes. Shallow argument.
     
  8. cjc811wvfd73, Jul 4, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2013

    cjc811wvfd73 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #8
    Agree 100% allow us to disable data if we do not want to use any data apps.

    EDIT: only if we are in hotspot.
     
  9. 8a22a macrumors 6502a

    8a22a

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    #9
    At the moment you can switch to Airplane mode then switch on wifi and bluetooth as required from the control center. Although that disconnects the carrier completely.
     
  10. bkribbs macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    #10
    Would that block texts? Don't have an iPhone and remember some trick with wifi and texting...

    though that wouldn't help when you want no data running but want texts
     
  11. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #11
    I'm not giving an argument in any direction, I'm just adding on a comment from a user who seems to be assuming that once wifi is connected there's no mobile data.

    For some users without 3G signal that is actually an issue. If you only have EDGE signal, very often your phone will appear as if disconnected if you get a call, and that is because the phone is keeping the push connection alive.

    I don't really care about a mobile data shortcut, I would only ever use it if I'm roaming abroad.
     

Share This Page