Hopefully this is something simple here...

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by klymr, Jan 24, 2008.

  1. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #1
    It's a jailbreak question...

    I downgraded my phone from 1.1.2 to 1.1.1 successfully and got it "activated." I installed the OktoPrep that allows you to jailbreak 1.1.2 and that went on fine. However, when I install 1.1.2 and then run the jailbreak.jar it does nothing. Am I supposed to click on something once I open that? I clicked on the Jailbreak! button and it ran that and said it was successful and the iPhone would restart twice and be done, but nothing happens and iTunes says that it needs to be restored again. What do I do at this point? HELP PLEASE!
     
  2. brando88 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #2
    When iTunes is telling you to restore again, just run iNdependence (Mac) or iBrickr (PC) to kick it out of DFU mode.

    The new jailbroken image will flash to the iPhone and reset it after it hits the "Activation Screen."
     
  3. klymr thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #3
    So, do I use iNdependence again AFTER I run the 1.1.2 update? I thought that I just opened the jailbreak.jar and hit the Jailbreak! button. Everytime I did that I just got a message stating the jailbreak was complete and the phone would restart a few times and be done, but it never restarted.

    Anyone know what to do here?
     
  4. brando88 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #4
    If your phone is still stuck in recovery mode after the 1.1.2 jailbreak program (jailbreak.jar, and mine was stuck in DFU mode) then yes, run iNdependence to kick it out. When it gets to the "Activation Screen," the iPhone will be re-booted from the new jailbroken flash image.
     
  5. klymr thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #5
    Ok, I got it activated and jailbroken, but now the installer says it needs to update but when I click on update it says the "package download failed." Any ideas?
     
  6. klymr thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #6
    I just started all over with everything and it all worked out fine. I have it up and running great. I also figured out to put the NES games on here. These phones are kind of fun! Anyway, thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page