horizontal grey lines across screen

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Rossatron, Mar 28, 2015.

  1. Rossatron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Location:
    in a ziplock bag inside a car's trunk
    #1
    i started my mb, and these lines suddenly appeared and won't go away. they are very thin, grey, horizontal lines and they are over the entire screen. i have taken a screen shot, viewed it on my iPhone but didn't see any lines (maybe there are and i can't see, so I'm posting the picture).

    computer details: mb pro, retina, mid 2014, intel iris pro + geforce 750m

    would appreciate any help

    [​IMG]
     
  2. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #2
    It sounds like a hardware problem. If it is, it won't show up on a screenshot.
    Take a photo with your iPhone and post it, so we can see the problem.
     
  3. Rossatron thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Location:
    in a ziplock bag inside a car's trunk
    #3
    Forgot to mention I'm running 10.10.2

    I took a picture, it's in a wierd angle because that's the only way I could get the lines to show with no blur from the screen.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #4
    - It's difficult to see with the low resolution. Could you upload a full resolution photo (using something other than TinyPic)?

    If you have an external monitor, try hooking your MBP up to that to see if the issue is still there. If it is, the problem isn't with your display (but perhaps with your GPU). If it isn't, it might be a display problem.

    Also, see if the issue appears both with the Intel and GeForce graphics (turn graphics switching on and off in system preferences and confirm which card is being used in "About this Mac").
     
  5. Rossatron thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Location:
    in a ziplock bag inside a car's trunk
    #5
    Switched between cards - no difference. I don't have a monitor at hand, I'll see if I can hook it up at the Apple Store. Did connect it to a TV with hdmi, played around with resolution and *i think* I didnt see any lines.

    I hope that if its indeed a hardware malfunction then it's the screen - seems (to me) it's better having just that replaced instead of them fiddling around with the logic board.

    Also, the lines sorta intensify and become more prominent after couple of minutes of use. A restart/sleep takes them back to their faided look

    Did a fresh install, lines still there.

    Oh - I ran apple's diagnostic tool and it came out ok.


    This reminds me I have to get a backup machine. No computer for whatever amount of time they gonna keep it is hell
     
  6. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #6
    The issue appearing on both cards and not on your TV rules out a GPU issue. The fresh install not fixing things rules out a software issue.

    It seems it's with your display. Take it to the Apple Store.
     
  7. Rossatron thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Location:
    in a ziplock bag inside a car's trunk
    #7
    Took it to the store, gonna take about 2 weeks to get it back, hopefully fixed.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  8. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #8
    - No problem! Do let me know what they replaced when you get it back.
     
  9. Rossatron thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Location:
    in a ziplock bag inside a car's trunk
    #9
    ok, so here's an update: computer was sent to their lab and they replaced the monitor. actually, it was done really quickly (was ready for pickup on april 3rd, but i was away). no hassle, no arguments - i was quite surprised. in my experience - with other brands - was poor indeed whenever i needed them to fulfill their warranty
     
  10. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #10
    - That's great to hear.
     
  11. robmunro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    #11
    Hey bud, what did they replace? Do you know?

    Oh they just gave you a new one... Did they say what the problem was?

    Cheers!
     
  12. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #12
    - You probably didn't intend to quote me as I'm not the one having replacements done here.
    The OP mentioned that they replaced the screen.
     

Share This Page