Hosting own webstie

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by TheG00n, Sep 23, 2008.

  1. TheG00n macrumors newbie

    TheG00n

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    Spring Arbor University and Hartland, MI
    #1
    Hey guys i have made a website in a class and it is an art portfolio site. I was wondering if there was a way of hosting my site on my own in stead of using a free hosting website....for example if i bought my url that i wanted how would i go about hosting that url? I dont know if this matters or not but i have a iMac 2.6 GHz
     
  2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Yes you can. I did it for about three years. If you have a static IP address it's really easy, if not, it's still possible, but takes more effort. Once you have your domain name, go into the control panel area and look for where you need to add the address to point it to, which will be your IP address.

    If you have a dynamic IP (and most people do) then you'll need to update the control panel every time it changes. Some people's IP changes more than others. My usually changed every 3 or 4 months so I was lucky. The alternative is to use a service like DynDNS, which will keep up with the dynamic IP, and it's free. I haven't used this service so don't know the details of the free service.
     
  3. montanachad macrumors regular

    montanachad

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Helena, Montana and Lacey, Washington
    #3
    Don't use Comcast. Using Comcast residential Internet for Web hosting is against their rules and they set it up, somehow, to disable customers from hosting.:(
     
  4. TheG00n thread starter macrumors newbie

    TheG00n

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    Spring Arbor University and Hartland, MI
    #4
    Is there a free hosting site out there that will let u have your own URL. For example i am using tripod right now and the URL is mydomain.tripod.com is there a place i can go to host my website with out having the .tripod in the URL??
     
  5. myjay610 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #5
    Something like godaddy.com will let you. You have to pay but I think I pay less than $10 a year, so it's pretty trivial.

    As for "not using comcast" that's true, if you are going to host over port 80. But you can use some obscure port over 1024 (I used to use 4343) but it could be anything around that range.

    The only issue is people not being able to hit the site if they are on a LAN with firewall rules disallowing visiting sites hosted on weird ports.
     
  6. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    Nothing's disabled in my area. I've been hosting my personal site from my home Comcast connection for a couple of years now. It doesn't see much bandwidth use because I use it to host a Joomla site where I stash useful articles I find on the internet that I'm afraid will go away if I just bookmark them.
    BTW my IP address hasn't changed once since I started doing this. Who needs a static IP?
     

Share This Page