Hot corners, menu highlights, other processes suddenly stop working

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Naiera, Jul 14, 2017.

  1. Naiera macrumors newbie

    Naiera

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1
    I've had this problem for a while. Seemingly randomly, hot corners, those blue highlights of menu choices, mouse-over indication of HTML links, drag'n drop and a bunch of other processes stop working.

    The thing is, I figured this problem would end when I switched from my mid-2009 MacBook Pro to a brand-new 27" iMac!

    I was very, very surprised when the same damn thing happened maybe 24 hours into using my very expensive new computer (it's the top model with the fastest processor and 1TB SSD, plus an upgrade to 64GB RAM in the mail). I think the problem actually occurs more frequently than on the old computer!

    I don't think I'm using any weird software. The only common denominator I can think of is Firefox. This issue precedes any plug-ins I've been using (uBlock and a screenshot app, where I believe I've used three different ones over the years). MacOS, Firefox and everything else is always up-to-date, although the OS obviously wasn't able to upgrade to the very latest version on the old MacBook Pro.

    I've upgraded my Office suite from 2007 to the latest one. I'm almost always running Excel and frequently use Word, but if there was a pattern I figure I would have spotted it years ago.

    Note: This is NOT just the usual "hot corners stop working" issue. This is a far more widespread problem that affects many areas of the software I use.

    A restart fixes the problem, but it may pop up again an hour later or three days later. I've already restarted once today, and I would have done so again just now if I wasn't burning a BD-R DL in Toast 15!

    Any ideas would be very, very welcome. I really thought this problem would go away when I switched to a new computer with updated versions of virtually all the software I use on a daily basis :(
     
  2. cruisin macrumors 6502a

    cruisin

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    When you switched over, did you start fresh or did you migrate everything over including settings? Sometimes weird things break and you need to start fresh. I once had a issue where everything would freeze if I tried to restart or shutdown that wouldn’t go away.

    What happens if you make a new user account and run your usual workflow? You will need to configure the hot corners again (System Preferences > Screen Saver > Screen Saver button).
     
  3. Naiera thread starter macrumors newbie

    Naiera

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    Thank you very much for your reply.

    I forgot to mention that I did start over. I do have a Time Capsule, but I know that restoring from a backup could bring over issues and sluggishness. I instead used the old MacBook Pro as a reference when I was installing all the programs and such ;)
     
  4. Naiera thread starter macrumors newbie

    Naiera

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    Logging out and in does the same as rebooting, but I still lose all my open windows and such, so it's only a slightly quicker, temporary solution.

    Troubleshooting the problem isn't easy when I have to wait for it to occur :p
     

Share This Page