Housing internal SATA II 3.5 externally

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by villagemusicman, Dec 10, 2011.

  1. villagemusicman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hello good people of MR,

    I've recently swapped out two 500gb internal SATA II drives for two 1Tb drives. Is it possible to somehow house the 500gb externally and still access them via FW or USB ?

    I'd primarily use them for back ups and possibly TM so speed of access isn't a primary concern.

    I'd appreciate any advice from the learned people here :)

    Thanks,

    VM

    FYI i'm still using my 2006 MP (10.6.8)with the upgraded X5365 CPUs
     
  2. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    I have a Voyager Q which is perfect for that sort of thing, for pretty cheap!

    Connects via FireWire 800 & 400, USB 3.0/2.0 and eSATA.
     
  3. villagemusicman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Hi WS,

    Thank you for your suggestion, do you know of one which is more enclosed? I'll still investigate the Voyager as it does everything i need ;-)

    BR

    VM
     
  4. The Mac DDS macrumors newbie

    The Mac DDS

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Location:
    CA
    #4
    There are a number of enclosures sold by OWC that should fit the bill. Here is an example:

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MEP944FW8EUO/
     
  5. anim8or macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #5
  6. villagemusicman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Thanks everyone,

    The one's anim8or posted are very smart looking and i'm almost tempted :D

    BR

    VM
     

Share This Page