How about AT&T 3G reception in your basement?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by coolwater, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. coolwater macrumors 6502a

    coolwater

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #1
    I spend most of my time at home in the basement. It is a 'real' basement; not ground floor one side and underground the other.

    I've had no reception problem with my Verizon in our basement at all. I wonder how AT&T 3G would work in my basement.
     
  2. uberamd macrumors 68030

    uberamd

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #2
    I had 0-1 bar in my basement with Sprint. AT&T gives me 3-5.
     
  3. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #3
    It's ok. We do get 3G in our basement but we can also count on dropping at least half the calls while in the basement, especially while talking to AT&T for some reason.
     
  4. MacGeek7 macrumors 6502a

    MacGeek7

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    #4
    The nearest city with 3G signal is about an hour away...so to answer the question, no, I don't get 3G signal in my basement. However, I'm just a few hundred yards from an AT&T tower which gave me a full 2G signal in my basement.
     
  5. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #5
    Bad, I only get it in certain spots....but better then everyone else who comes here(using Sprint, Verizon, T Mobile, etc)
     
  6. bobsentell macrumors 6502a

    bobsentell

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #6
    I believe that there is a Behavioral Psychiatrist having a field day in this forum.:cool:
     
  7. mgamber macrumors 6502a

    mgamber

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    1966
    #7
    LOL! I've often thought the same thing. And a few anger management specialists, too. :D
     
  8. Sketchr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #8
    I have 3-4 bars in my basement. Prior to iPhone 3G I had only 1-2 bars with my Blackberry
     
  9. coolwater thread starter macrumors 6502a

    coolwater

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #9
    Morons who can't answer a simple question yet wants to be a wise jerk shouldn't bother to reply. :cool:
     
  10. bobsentell macrumors 6502a

    bobsentell

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #10
    You are asking about cell phone coverage under ground. Unless you are living with 100 feet of the cell tower, odds are your cell service sucks.
     
  11. MacVixen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    #11
    The only basement I ever go into is at work and it is a "true" basement I suppose - no windows to see to the outside world :D

    Anyhow, my AT&T service is TERRIBLE in the basement. I go from 3G down to Edge and barely a bar or two at that. Important to note though that I work in a 5 story building (not including basement) that is made completely out of concrete. Don't know if that creates an interference issue. Still, I don't recall having that problem with Verizon. :confused:
     
  12. coolwater thread starter macrumors 6502a

    coolwater

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #12
    Can't read? I have no problem with my Verizon and wondering about AT&T 3G.
     
  13. Hawkeye411 macrumors 68000

    Hawkeye411

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada EH!!!
    #13
    Get a job and MOVE OUT OF YOUR PARENTS BASEMENT!
    Problem solved!! :D
     
  14. coolwater thread starter macrumors 6502a

    coolwater

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #14
    FYI, it is my house and I have a music studio set up in my basement. Maybe you should get a better job and buy your own house.
     
  15. bobsentell macrumors 6502a

    bobsentell

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #15
    Then go back to Verizon. Obviously their coverage is better. It has to do with the location of your tower, the terrain in between, and the construction of your home. As a general rule, cell phones don't work under ground.
     
  16. ckhris macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #16
    Here in houston att indoors blows. Some building like a bowling alley att has nothing on any att phone. Verizon does not have this issue and if they ever get this iphone and not cripple it ill b the first in line to go back.
     
  17. coolwater thread starter macrumors 6502a

    coolwater

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #17
    Huh? Really?

    Geez....
     
  18. Kadman macrumors 65816

    Kadman

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #18
    I'm a corporate employee who telecommutes. My "summer office" is the basement because the kids are home & have friends over and my normal office on the second floor isn't sound isolated enough... Point is that I spend my office hours during summers in our basement. No issues at all w/ATT here. I have "full bars" and data speeds seem fine when turning off WiFi and using 3G only. Ours is what I consider a full basement. The lay of the lot is such that there are two small windows on the opposite side of the basement, but the ground is just inches below that. The rest of the basement is fully buried.

    In the winter we run a 240 volt circuit for heating elements below the tile floor on our first floor. I haven't had any basement reception issues even then.
     
  19. ckhris macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #19
    Here in houston att indoors blows. Some building like a bowling alley att has nothing on any att phone. Verizon does not have this issue and if they ever get this iphone and not cripple it ill b the first in line to go back. I can deal with mediocre service for the device. If verizon does get this phone att is gonna loose a lot unless they hurry up and step up their service they promise to do. Id stay if service gets better. Heck i have 1500 roll over minutes. Ü
     
  20. coolwater thread starter macrumors 6502a

    coolwater

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #20

    I hope my basement is as 3G friendly as yours. And, the floor heating is the way to go! :D
     
  21. SqB macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    #21
    How do you fit all those Verizon guys in your basement?
     
  22. coolwater thread starter macrumors 6502a

    coolwater

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #22
    They are only visible on TV. I don't know how many are working in my basement. ;)
     
  23. joshellis625 macrumors 6502

    joshellis625

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #23
    I always get 4-5 bars in my basement with only one tiny little storm window ;)
     
  24. marksman macrumors 603

    marksman

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #24
    I get decent reception until I lower the phone in the basket and the lotion past about 15 feet, then the signal drops off.
     
  25. Kadman macrumors 65816

    Kadman

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #25
    "It slides to unlock or it gets the hose again..."
     

Share This Page