How accurate is data usage information given on iPhone settings section?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Frozzie, Nov 15, 2013.

  1. Frozzie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #1
    So, according to iOS information on data usage (Settings > Mobile > Mobile Data Usage) it says I've used 289MB of data in total including system services since 4th November when I was given 500MB usage (excluding wifi).

    My network (Everything Everywhere) however says that I'm already over 500mb limit and getting charged extra already. So who are right, iOS or EE?
     
  2. jonasdamn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #2
    For me it is accurative, maybe 1-5Mb difference in the end. However everything goes for carrier cellular data calculation system. Furthermore, mine carriers cellular data calculation rounding is by 10 Kb, bigger rounding more inacurative result between phones and carriers
     
  3. Frozzie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #3
    Well, EE doesn't count amount downloaded via wifi where I've downloaded gigabytes already, so it is purely 3G allowance.

    Seems like then EE have been ripping me off with their extremely inaccurate counter then. Tried complaining but doesn't really help when all their reps say are that they are correct and that I've been using too much. REALLY HATING LIVING IN THIS DISGUSTING WORLD.
     
  4. liteshow macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #4
    Had a similar issue happen to me a few months ago. My usage was way under according to IOS Cellular Data Usage AND a Third Party APP that measure my Cellular data usage. However, my Cellular provider (Rogers - prepaid) says I was over the limit. Called them and spend like 1/2 hour on the phone with customer service. All the time on the phone with customer service, I remained very calm and polite. I was able to get her to check the logs for big chunks of data and she was able to go through almost my entire month of usage and found no huge data consumption. I then proceeded with a little Math and we concluded with my usage average out that it was impossible to go over the limit. That's where she suspected something was wrong with their system and checked further. Turns out that there was a glitch in their system and my account was incorrectly flagged as over the limit.

    Having a third party app (I use Traffic Monitor with Speed Test) helped by verifying that the IOS Cellular Data usage was indeed correct. I can see maybe the IOS Data usage and your Cellular providers differing by a few MB's but 200MB is a huge difference. You should call your provider to verify their logs.
     
  5. Frozzie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #5
    Okay sounds you've had good service care, I don't know how to complain about this really.

    I've just started 12 month contract and can't get out of it, they are reluctant to investigate anything going on, it is not going to be possible for me to prove that I'm right nor that I can prove that there is wrong with their counter. Even if they investigate themselves there isn't going to be a way to tell if everything's transparent or not.

    I've asked them to count all the MBs that I've downloaded, they can't be asked to add up all numbers and seems I'm losing out. Maybe consumer protection advice is what I should try its becoming waste of time.
     
  6. bjb.butler macrumors 6502a

    bjb.butler

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #6
    It's not that serious bro...
     
  7. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #7

    What's disgusting is, all those dead bodies on TV due to Haiyan and the Philippines government can't even take care of basic needs of its own citizens.

    Your iPhone? get a grip.
     
  8. Gincoma macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    #8
    mines off by 2.1gb compared to my verizon app mobile usage
     
  9. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #9
    Little differences are to be expected. 200 mb is too much !
    An error usually is on the carrier side, so you have to ask for data usage logs and check them.
     
  10. Frozzie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #10
    Just got told to switch off 3G until 5th December when my next usage limit will be reset. Asked if they can investigate now they say they didn't want me to be charged and they can only investigate once usage cycle is complete.

    Really convenient isn't it. Now my iPhone is just as worthful as an iPod touch with wireless capability now.
     
  11. Frozzie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #11
    After phoning about 5-6 people on EE who all say same things...

    EE rep: So what phone are you using?
    Me: iPhone 5, does that matter? It all depends on how you use your phone. My iPhone only used 289MB this month.
    EE rep: So you know iPhone is intensive on using mobile data...
    Me: I know how to manage data usage, I know how to use an iPhone. I've turned background usage off. My iPhone has used in total 289MB this month.
    EE rep: You know, your usage could be down to watching videos, downloading etc...
    Me: And my iPhone says that equals total of 289MB this month. And I don't even watch videos on 3G.
    EE rep: What I am saying is that on my screen you have used up all 500MB. Using facebook you know downloads images and pushing emails can add up a lot.
    Me: And my iPhone says I've used in total 289MB this month including all apps.
    EE rep: And iMessage also uses mobile data
    Me: My iPhone mobile data usage includes all apps, you name it and I've only used 289MB this month.

    They think I've never used an iPhone before... *sighs* No point arguing with them when every time I say that I know for fact that it has only used 289MB, they come up with some kind of excuse that was my fault.
     
  12. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
  13. dave420 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #13
    Do you have a weak signal? I've heard sometimes the cellular company will charge you for data that was sent to you and you never received. In those cases your phone wouldn't indicate any data was transmitted.
     

Share This Page